We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elmbank Hotel to your Saves list
Elmbank Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in York
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the Elmbank Hotel in York last weekend. Outside it looks fairly promising... and it all goes downhill from then on. The reception area is a dull drab affair which is something that you would expect in Dracula's castle. We were greeted without any kind of smile or welcome and given our hotel key. It was quite a miserable affair really.

Walking down the VERY dated corridor we sampled carpet which was held together with gaffa tape. Come on Elmbank, why don't you fit a new carpet for heaven's sake?! Then down to our room with probably the most awful wallpaper and decor I have ever seen. The room actually wasn't that bad, but at the same time wasn't brilliant either. It was clean, but dated and the bathroom was run down with damp patches and a toilet that didn't really work until you flushed the life out of it with the glued on handle. The bed was a "push and zip", even though we asked for a double which meant it wasn't that comfortable. We queried this with the receptionist but she wasn't really bothered.

Would I go there again? No. Would you take your wife/girlfriend there? Certainly not. Take it from me, if you visit this area just go down the road and stay at the Premiere Inn. This place is yearning for the hotel inspector!!!!

Must do better Elmbank.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    174
    162
    132
    140
See reviews for
73
317
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were put in the lodge that looked like five sheds at the back ,this was a surprise since we booked our holiday 6 months before . It was shame that we felt as if we were not part of the hotel.The shower was cold . The bed was lovely and big and very comfortable however we had a small window which every time a car parked its head lights shone through.
The hotel looked lovely with its big seating area with open fire we had to walk around to the logde through the car park at night because the hotel had locked the conecting door I would have liked to been in the hotel not the lodge which we booked for.
.

Room Tip: Make sure you are booked into the hotel and not the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I paid for a double room but seem to have got a cleaners cupboard with a double bed forced into it the window was rotting and looked out onto the top of a conservatory some extractor fans and a wall. If the room was small then the bathroom was smaller with not enough room to turn in. The pictures on the website of the double rooms being bright and spacious are very misleading its a shame because the communal areas and the hotels location are great but because of the scruffy excuse for a room I would not recommend and will not be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Got a late booking for Saturday evening so had to pay price quoted at £99 for two no breakfast. I agree with other comments. Duct tape on carpets, in much need of overhall. We had the smallest ensuite double room I have ever experienced. You could only pass each other in the room by one sitting on the bed. En suite comprisid toliet and shower crameed into a norrow corridor. Enter door, half step to right for toilet, close door if you need to be seated. This is when you discover that the shower is to the left behind the door not obvious until you do wish to be seated.. Will never visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A bit shabby as others have said but not so that it would ruin your stay. Likewise the staff are "ok" The bar, lounge and public areas are very nice with some great period features and breakfast was good.
The only bad thing I can say is the noise - we were in a room directly above the entrance and the traffic noise all night, combined with the guest next door "enjoying themselves" heard through paper thin walls pretty much meant sleep was impossible.
Would I stay again? sadly because of the noise- no..

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the building where traffic noise is really bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I don't know where the people who wrote the bad reviews are staying but it wasn't the same hotel as me! We stayed in the random little chalets at the back of the main building. The room was clean, warm an comfortable. The main building is beautiful too. We sat and had drinks in the lobby in front of the open fire. Perfect end to the day. Plus free parking and a 10 minute walk to town. Will definitely be staying again :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were looking for some where to stay and within walking distance to York centre, the location is ideal, we were lucky and managed to get the car parked. The architecture of the main building is lovely. Inside is rather shabby and run down but the staff are very friendly, basic cleaning skills are required, the main stair case was certainly not hoovered or dusted the three days we were staying.

The room had several cob webs, again basic cleaning skills is all that's required. Furniture out dated, wall paper peeling in places and with no double glazing traffic noise was high.

The en-suite was small and practical, but unfortunately with the small sink you could not fill the kettle as it would not fit under the taps

We only stayed for breakfast and could not fault this, the selection is good, and the staff again were very friendly

It's a shame that such a lovely hotel in an ideal location is being spoiled by basic cleaning and a good general tidy up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.