We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Limes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Limes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   135 Fulford Road | The Limes, York YO10 4HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B's !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After driving many hours it was a pleasure to be greeted warmly and be shown a room which was spotlessly clean and complete with items which many b&b's omit e.g. hair dryer, tea making facilities and toiletries in the ensuite shower room. The en-suite was compact at best but again, faultlessly clean. Breakfast was a delight too. The usual fare was there...yogurt, cereal and muesli etc but how wonderful to see each morning a large bowl of freshly prepared fruit salad (not tinned!). We opted for the full english breakfast and up came probably the cleanest and well laid out plate of cooked breakfast that I have seen for a long time. This was our first visit to York and the owners took time to ask if we needed any help with directions, bus and taxi services etc. They really seemed interested. We are already planning our next visit to York and definitely, The Limes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    46
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
78
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I arrived in York at about 6.00pm, and pulled into The Limes on the way into town. Secured a nice eat room. Owner was very helpful with his tips for York, and cooked a very nice breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay at The Limes with my parents. We arrived at between 10.30 and 11am and our room was ready for us. Our welcome was warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. We were told about the breakfast times and given information about the best routes to take into town and to the racecourse. The walk into town by the water was beautiful and took no more than 20minutes, maybe less. It was a lovely location, just outside the main bustling streets but not too far that it was a struggle to walk. The breakfast was lovely, with cooked, cereals, fruits and yogurt available. The price was very reasonable as well. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the you do also. Thanks for a lovely night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Limes is a great example of the very best B&B's. Very professionally run yet homely and welcoming - Fiona and Ricardo are very friendly hosts. Our 2 rooms were a good size and immaculate. All of this complemented by a high quality breakfast. It's located just outside the busy part of the city, so we left the car in the car park each day and strolled into the city centre, the main part along the river. It's about 25 minutes to walk, but there's frequent buses if it's raining. Our first choice for future race meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Limes for 4 nights B&B. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, we had a lovely room with a beautiful en-suite bathroom which was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the B&B. There is a TV lounge to relax in and in another room a small bar, the breakfast was excellent with a good choice of full english, cereals, toast, yogurts and fruit. The location is ideal as the short walk along the river into York was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend The Limes to anyone wishing to visit York and we look forward to going back in the near future. Carol & Michael

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week. Really enjoyed our overnight stop and we are already planning a return visit in the near future. Lovely welcoming family run hotel.the hotel is ideally situated being a short, twenty minute walk from the city centre. It is also handy for the retail outlet, only a short car trip or the bus to the outlet passes the door. Really liked the fact that there was a little bar- stopped for a night cap there .breakfast was cooked to perfection. All together a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at The Limes for 2 nights B&B over the music weekend at the races.
Firstly the location is perfect for the racecourse, 20 minutes stroll away (bit longer in heels)
For the city centre it's a similar distance and due to York's flatness this is easy.
The owners are very welcoming and really helpful - we needed somewhere to eat at short notice and were advised to go to Il Paradiso Del Cibo which is a great small Italian on Walmgate - reviewed separately.
Breakfast at The Limes is fantastic and something they really take pride in.
So the rooms, a few reviews claim they are dated, etc. Whilst not being 'trendy' i found that the rooms were suitable for our needs and contained everything people could need away from home - even Fox Glacier sweets!
Price was reasonable at £95 per night on races weekend.
Would definitely recommend and next time I stay in York my first choice will be here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Limes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limes Hotel

Address: 135 Fulford Road | The Limes, York YO10 4HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limes Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last two years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Limes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.