We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay to see concert at Barbican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel York Centre to your Saves list
Novotel York Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Short stay to see concert at Barbican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great position especially for the Barbican Theatre. Hotel reception very friendly and helpful. Hotel very nice only observation hallway carpets looking tired but all in all a very nice hotel.Parking very good and good value considering prices in York, overnight parking and a days shopping in York car park £8.50. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am glad to read you had a good time. I hope you equally had a great time at the Barbican Centre! I have taken note of your comments with regards to the corridors and can confirm that work will start in January during the low season. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    649
    340
    98
    49
See reviews for
590
560
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room for my son and I. Sat nav was a little out, but we found the hotel. As my son's into history we visited many of the sites, too many to mention. The town was full of shoppers and a great pedestrian shopping zone. Can't recommend York enough. The hotels clean and has a swimming pool. Brilliant. The staff are superb. Thanks Novotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good morning and happy birthday to your son! I am extremely pleased you had a good time in York. There is so much to do! I am also delighted to read your comments about our staff and will share them with the whole team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our daughter booked a 1 night stay at this hotel and tickets for us to see Jools Holland at the Barbican for an early christmas present. What an excellent choice, the hotel is a few minutes walk to the Barbican and only about 8 minutes to the city centre. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before checkin time and were given a room straight away , so we parked our car and headed into York to do some shopping and have lunch. We were told that the car park charge of £8.50 would last until midnight the following day which would give us another full day in York if we so wished. The superior room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed for our stay.
As we had a late lunch we could only manage a starter from the bar menu which was excellent before we headed to our concert. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and I would say that the hotel is better than some 4* we have stayed in. Overall a very enjoyable stay and a great night at the Barbican.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. Your comments have been shared with the team and we would all want to thank you once again. It has been a pleasure having you around and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights on business and they tried charging £199 per night, no breakfast or dinner. I managed to knock the bill down but how on earth they can try and justify that charge I have no idea. They also swiped my card for £300 at the beginning to cover any extras and when I checked out, instead of deducting this from my bill (it had already left my account account) they changed me full whack and it took two days to get my £300 back! Disgusting. Rooms were noisy and everything overpriced. Would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your feedback. I am obviously sorry to read you would not consider us for a future stay and will investigate your comments further. Please do not hesitate to contact me on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com shoud you wish to discuss the matter further. Thank you once again for your honest feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, North Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2012. Had booked executive room but were disappointed. We are two adults and a child. Extra bed (uncomfortable) made room cramped. The weather was hot and the ventilation was poor in the room. For the upgrade we got - ipod dock, espresso coffee machine, dressing gowns/slippers and wifi. Bathroom was nice but strange set up with double doors opening onto bedroom. Separate toilet was like a jail or a 1* hotel. Good power shower and nice products in bathroom (bath bombs were nice). Plenty of nice towels. Disappointed to find an empty beer can in one of the drawers. Were told by reception we had a river view but all we could see was the pool roof! Pool area looked nice but changing area left a lot to be desired. Wii and x-box in bar for children, also colouring items and toys. Drinks in bar expensive. Plenty of parking but had to pay per night for this. Grounds were scruffy and could do with tidying. Could make a nice area for drinks outside at night with a little effort. Ate in one night as the price was reasonable for a family. Food and service very good (free bottled water), likewise at breakfast - well stocked and friendly staff. Pleasant 15 minute walk into town along river. Avoid coach parties at breakfast.

Room Tip: You may get a river view if you choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your extensive comments. I have taken note of all of them and can already reassure sure that some works have already been carried out since you last stayed back in August. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in the Executive Suite,if we had paid full price, we would have complained to the manager, found human hair in the bath,the carpets looked dirty,the bed was comfortable,coffee cups stuck to the saucers had to wash them before use, one of biggest faults here is £8.50 car park charge.breakfast was ok we have had better,the staff was the best thing here they are very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good morning. I am very sorry to read your room was not clean as per our usual standards. Please do rest assured that steps will be taken to avoid any reoccurence in the future. I will also share your comments with the team with regards to the levels of service. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel York Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.