We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel York Centre

Save Saved
You added Novotel York Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 hotels in York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Strongly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

I have never felt compelled to write a review before but this hotel and staff deserve praise. We booked an executive suite which was the same price as the Travelodge down the road and having now stayed in both hotels, this one is far superior. We arrived early and got a parking space which really made the whole stay hassle free from the start. Our room was ready for us despite our early arrival and the reception staff were very welcoming. The room was lovely - spacious with a modern, spotless bathroom with a bath and separate shower. The room had a river view and was very quiet. Having stayed in numerous more expensive hotels, I can honestly say that I cannot fault this one and came away feeling that my expectations had been exceeded which very rarely happens!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to read you had a good stay. we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    527
    291
    76
    42
See reviews for
497
434
42
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

nice location close to city centre but not too close to be affected by the noise. rooms are big easily would fit a family without feeling cramped in.

we had stayed as a last minute thing room cost £90 for a double. only downside was told no room service after 8pm.

nice clean hotel nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a good time and will investigate your comments with regards to room service offerings as we do provide food around the clock. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My train home was delayed nearly four hours so I was standed in York for the night, so full marks to Novotel for coming up with a last-minute room at a reasonable rate when all the other hotels in York didn't want to know. Apparently one of their managers had herself had similar train-related hassles recently so she was extremely sympathetic.
When I finally rolled up just before midnight the night manager was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable - just what I needed as I was feeling very stressed!
I cannot comment on the hotel's other facilities as I didn't use them, but I'd be very happy to stay here again, hopefully under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Good morning. I am glad to read you had a good time despite the rather frustrating reason for your stay. I hope, as you say, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back under better circumstances.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

this is an average hotel it does everything OK but does nothing great. breakfast was good, ensuite good, bed good. can comment on swimming pool (being renovated at the time) nor restaurant as I never ate there
what I will say is that this hotel is NOT in or close to the city centre nor the station. walking 20 minutes each way gets annoying as you can't "pop in" when you're out and about

Room Tip: use the riverside walk into town. much better than crossing highways
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in the week on a room only rate. Friendly receptionist on check-in and check-out. Phonecall to check that everything was ok with the room was a nice touch. The important things in the room were clean i.e. the bed, bathroom and floors, there was just a lack of attention to detail elsewhere, the desk and stand the tv was on were covered in dust and the shower only ran warm, black gaffer tape to cover up crack on white light in the bathroom. We used the pool which was smaller than it looks on the website but we had it to ourselves the majority of the time so was fine. Great location just under ten minutes walk into town, nice walk by the river into york. Would recommend for a short city break.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I have shared them with the team in order to recognise what is good and what needs to be improved.

Thank you once again

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel York Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.