We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Third visit to the DCH and each one perfect. Best location in town for minster, bars and restaurants. Small double room we were allocated was comfortable with en-suite bathroom and a powerful shower. Breakfast was excellent with a varied menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    254
    79
    22
    20
See reviews for
152
577
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. From start to finish, the staff couldn't do enough for us. The valet parking is a bonus as well. Restaurant was first class & the rooms are spacious & clean. Great location for visiting everything in the city walls . Would definately recomend to all family & friends

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had difficulty finding this hotel because we just could not believe that it could be so close to the minster and on a cul-de-sac.
So the second time driving around we saw the tiny Best Western sign and knew we were home!
The valet parking was very much appreciated.
We really enjoyed just strolling out into the heart of the town without worrying about driving or taxis.
Excellent breakfast - try the eggs Benedict it's my favorite said the waitress! She was right.
Only negative was some poor workmanship in the bathroom, otherwise it was just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel for our Golden Wedding Anniversary. It was our second visit within a year, and can only say how well we were treated by the staff. Breakfast choices were very good and the dinner we had on the Saturday night was excellent. Large bathroom with very efficient shower and huge bath.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Minster. The only disadvantage was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel right in the heart of York.
Staff are wonderful, ESP Beckie, other staff were very friendly and polite.
Rooms clean and airy, didn't have chance to eat or have breakfast, but it certainly looked good.
Fabulous stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After much indecision, we chose this as our hotel for York... Thankfully we did. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, fantastic location with a nice view of the Minster from our room (at no extra cost) and the best shower! The rooms were roasting hot, but the hotel had provided a fan. Brekkie was fab and we were given the perfect seat to view the Minster. Will be staying here when we come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After dragging a broken wheeled suitcase down the cobblestones from the train station we were met with the nicest staff. The carried the bags up to our room and always had a greeting when ever we came and went.

The room was a great size, with a huge bathroom. They did have a lift to the room, but it was really small, so if stairs aren't your thing, and you don't do well in small spaces, I'd ask for a low floor.

I don't think you can find a better location in York to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York’s famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There’s an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little “extras” include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has AA Rosette Awards whilst THE COURT Café Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Throughout the year there are events including Afternoon Cream Tea WITH STRINGS ATTACHED. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus .There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park, and offers a free valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.