We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel with charm and some quirks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grange Hotel to your Saves list
The Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in York
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel with charm and some quirks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We spent a generally delightful weekend at the Grange. Our room (a classic double) was nicely decorated and although fairly simple, was easy on the eye in terms of design and a reasonable size. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and I was pleased that my ears fitted snugly between the bath taps when sharing a bubble bath: often a failing of many hotels these days. Breakfast was good and service friendly and obliging. My girlfriend asked for her bacon to be extremely well done and it arrived as cremated as she hoped!

We have a few gripes. We decided to celebrate our arrival in our room in rather a special way. We were therefore alarmed when the room door opened without a knock. I managed to fling myself off the bed towards the wardrobe and my girlfriend gave a shruggy smile to the member of staff, who retreated with apologies. Were I a lesser man this might have put me off, though the sliding of a neatly typed apology under the door ten minutes later when battle had recommenced provided the sort of comic moment we often enjoy.

The room was very hot. The back rooms cop the afternoon sun on hot days and we had to sleep with the window wide open.

But this is a nice place, a decent, slightly quirky hotel. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    256
    111
    58
    21
See reviews for
102
467
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed at Xmas 2009 and had an average experience but an awful Xmas meal. We were offered a complimentary room on a dinner bed and breakfast basis as compensation and added a further night at our expense.

the hotel is tired and furnishings generally well beyond what one should expect of a 4 star hotel. although the bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent. robes had seen better days and we would have dispensed with them long ago.

food in the restaurant very good although beware mass catering as the kitchen brigade seem to struggle and cannot cope. Chef is far more at home dealing with restaurant guests where the food is more bespoke.

Beware wedding parties too where paying hotel guests can easily get frozen out and it would be quicker to get a drink by going to a nearby pub as the one barman cannot cope with 120plus wedding guests and normal paying hotel guests.

Check your bills too as we were asked to pay for the complimentary night! soon sorted but shows sloppy attitude that was reinforced by a failure to deliver newspaper on the first morning and getting the restaurant booking correct by reserving a table on the wrong night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne, england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We loved the building, the staff were helpful, wonderful brealfast and the two evening meals we had were very enjoyable, something was missing, a lack of atmosphere perhaps! There did'nt seem to be any front of house continuity, we would probably stay again, its close to the city, but we had the same feeling as you might staying at a faceless chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a few days in York, staying at the Grange Hotel. We had made a late on-line booking and hoped that the accommodation would be nice, as so many hotels are often disappointing. However, the Grange was lovely. A beautiful building, a wonderful atmosphere, great food and excellent service. I would also like to commend the staff for being so polite and attentive. We will gladly return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicBishop, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be polite and attentive. We have worked very hard to ensure our staff come across in this manner and am delighted that you have commented upon this.

I would like to thank you for taking the time in giving me your feedback and do hope you will return to us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This is a nice hotel about 10 minutes walk from the Old York city. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful. We had one of the larger rooms which was still quite small and our room was quite noisy being on the corner of the hotel towards the main road. There is some free parking but be early.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicBishop, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback and I pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry you found the traffic to be noisy and would like to reassure you that we are constantly looking for new ways to improve our sound proofing that will be in keeping with our Hotel and also with its grade 2 listed status.

I do appreciate you taking the time to give me your feedback and look forward to you returning to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Yorks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed at the Grange Hotel recently and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in a good location (about 5 mins walk from the Minster) The Hotel has parking which was very useful in York although I would recommend an early arrival to obtain a space.

The rooms and hotel have character and charm. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. The staff too were very polite and helpful and the breakfast was very tasty.

Overall I would recommend this hotel although I do think the prices quoted are very expensive and I would recommend trying to find a good price deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicBishop, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback, I am delighted that we more than met all of your expectations.

I will ensure that my Head Chef is made aware of your very kind comments.

Unfortunately during your stay we did have an issue with our sound system but this has now been rectified so there are no more need to listen to other peoples conversations.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The Grange Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brackley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

my wife and myself wanted a special weekend away in york and decided on the grange it looked to have that little bit extra, we arrived on saturday and where in room 36 which i highly recommend as if had the biggest and most comfortable four poster bed i have ever been in (and being 6'5 i'm fussy when i comes to beds), it was luxourious, and there was even a tv in the bathroom which my wife loved. we ordered a romantic package and there was champagne on ice in the room with a box of thorntons chocolates on arrival.
the meals were amazing we ate in the ivy 2 nights and loved the presentation, i had the best duck i have ever eaten. cannot recommend there chef enough, my only comment though is there is no music in the restaurant so its very very quiet and your listening to other peoples conversations, maybe needs something to give it a bit of atmosphere.
we will definatly be back, it might not be the cheapest hotel but sometimes you gotta spoil yourself.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicBishop, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback, I am delighted that we more than met all of your expectations.

I will ensure that my Head Chef is made aware of your very kind comments.

Unfortunately during your stay we did have an issue with our sound system but this has now been rectified so there are no more need to listen to other peoples conversations.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The Grange Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city centre shops and attractions. It has two restaurants the AA 2 rosette Ivy Restaurant and the informal and relaxed Brasserie. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.