We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy atmosphere, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grange Hotel to your Saves list
The Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in York
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classy atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Grange provides a luxurious and classy experience. It's beautifully decorated, the staff is welcoming and friendly and the food is delicious. We had dinner at the candlelit Brasserie, where we enjoyed the quality steaks, and the breakfast included a good variety of both continental and cooked options to choose from. Our room was nicely decorated with wooden furniture and the walls were covered with traditional wallpaper. The only comment I could make is that when they say "small double bedroom" they really mean it. This was possibly the smallest bedroom I've ever stayed at, almost cell like, and therefore I found it too pricey for its size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    255
    111
    58
    21
See reviews for
102
466
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

One word of warning before I comment. The car park in the hotel is quite small so if you find it's full, there is a street nearby you could try.
The hotel has a horse racing theme throughout the corridors with lots of horsey things on the walls. There is a lovely library room on the first floor used for weddings. Lovely decor. the rooms are not huge but comfortable and the towels very soft.
Make sure you book your stay with breakfast included. It's fabulous. A choice of continental or full Yorkshire which is very tasty. Eggs bacon sausage tomato and black pudding. Yummmm. There is also plenty of coffee and tea and toast. And you can finish with juices and Pain du chocolat. A must have
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral and a further 5 minutes from the town centre. Make sure you visit York castle museum and the Viking Yarvic centre AND Bettys tea rooms for that taste of luxury from bygone days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in a "superior" room in the new block overlooking a side road. A nearby external door continually slammed shut, music and loud voices came from the maintenance office below and the refuse wagon loaded up outside our window at 4.30am. The restaurant was very un-inviting and the breakfast was appalling. All in all we came away with the feeling that at £135 a night it was a complete rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To be honest, I was sorely disappointed with my stay.

For the prices that they charge (I was paying £130 a night for my room) I would expect the sort of “finest luxury” hotel described on their website. In fact, my room was decidedly average – with tired looking furniture and fittings, strongly in need of a modern shower and heating, and absolutely none of those little “extras” that can make you feel you’re staying somewhere special – I would have said charging somewhere closer to half that rate (say £70) would have been a fair price. For £130, I’d expect the sort of room that makes you want to stay in it all evening, and not go out. As it was, I was glad I had other plans as I think it would have been a decidedly sad and depressing room to spend much time in.

The service and overall experience also fell short of what I’d expect from a hotel that markets itself the way it does (and charges the prices it does). Breakfast, for example, consisted of a small and picked over looking buffet. Staff seemed to struggle to take people’s orders for hot items, with people on the tables around me either being brought the wrong meals or finding themselves unable to attract anyone’s attention to take their order.

I had been very much looking forward to my stay but left, to be honest, feeling a bit like I’d been robbed.

They urgently need to amend their marketing materials and pricing structure to reflect the reality of the quality they are able to offer.

I have fed this back to the hotel management, but am currently awaiting their response.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Grange Hotel. It is disappointing to read when reviewers only choose to share small negatives of a stay and that you failed to mention at any point the fantastic wedding you attended while at the Hotel. The rate of £130 was a B&B rate and given our city location, recently renewed and continued AA 4 star rating and the fact you stayed on a weekend offers great value for money.
I have received your direct feedback today, and my reply is also with you, I do question why this at the end of your review?
I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further, please feel free to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Let me star this review by telling you that all bad reviews on here are obviously the opinions of people who like to hear their own voice. On a slightly more important note, I travel around on business regularly and I have to say that by far out of all the hotels I have stayed in this week The Grange Hotel far surpassed my expectations, you walk through the rear entrance from the car park with clear signage to reception, the smell was immense and fresh which was most satisfying. I checked in and the girl on reception was so pleasant and professional. She offered to help me my luggage but I politely rejected her genuine offer. You get your key card in a rather nice card holder which allows the key card to fit snug in to allow you to pop it in your wallet and see your room number with out fumbling with unnecessary amounts of paperwork so then I got to my room which was elegantly and tastefully decorated not to mention yet again a lovely smell of freshness and cleanliness the whole room was spotless. I was in my room putting away my belongings and the telephone rang and to my utter surprise, it was a courtesy call from reception asking if everything was ok with my room, I thought that was a very touching gesture particularly as it really shows that they value you as an individual customer as opposed to just a number. The tea caddy was brimmed with supplies and a teapot with nice large cups and saucers with the added advantage of fresh milk in the fridge, yes FRESH!! AND the duvet and pillows were down feather.... Unequivocally the best nights sleep I've had on my travels, I could not fault the room at all. I then realised the room didn't have an iron and went to reception who kindly offered to bring this to my room which they did and on the double, excellent service so far... Moving on I didn't actually eat at the hotel restaurant as I was meeting a friend in York but looked at the menu and it did look rather pleasing, varied range to accommodate every palate. I arrived back at the hotel later on that evening and went to the bar for a pint, again I was totally accommodated for and was told to take a seat and it would be brought over for me and it was. I then retired to my room and had a shower which was really hot, the towels were huge and bright white and really fluffy! Gorgeous! The soaps you get were really nice too! I then made use of the in room caddy and had myself a peppermint tea which was provided by Taylor's of Harrogate, so obviously this hotel knows quality! After my non alcoholic night cap I claimed in to bed and as I said it was very comfortable and the pillows were Devine, it was like home from home and the hotel certainly has that feel. I woke up in the morning to a pleasant smell of breakfast so I was eager to get down stairs and have mine. The buffet option was plentiful with warm Danish pastries and fresh fruit, and cold means, nothing was sparse, I was serverd my fresh coffee from a cafetier which again was lovely, I was then offered a cooked breakfast which was on the table within only a few minutes and the chap serving certainly was doing a good job, he seemed to be attending to everyone single handedly but was very very polite and had perfect manners, this is a great attribute for this industry as I rarely see this anymore. So to conclude, if you want a luxury hotel at a competitive rate, want to be server by probably the most commendable staff, you definitely need to stay here. Great staff, clean, fresh, traditional and warm, what more could you ask for?

I'd personally like to commend two members of staff who I feel deserve recognition and they are the lady on reception on the 20th March (reddish hair) and the chap in the restaurant serving breakfast with blonde hair. They both went above and beyond by the service they provided and their professional conduct. I was impressed. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location on the edge of York,ideal for foot access to all the sights in the City. Loads of parking and friendly greeting. Staff were always happy to help and eager to make us feel comfortable. Choice of two restraunts in the hotel ,The Ivy being more refined .Tried both with a fine choice of food, and excellant service. Super choice for breakfast that did set us up for the day. Our room was clean comfortable.Extra TV by the bath was novel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this 5 star review of The Grange Hotel. It was a real pleasure to have you with us, and thank you for your kind feedback both in person and here on TripAdvisor.
If you are ever thinking of staying with us again please ask for me personally when booking and I will ensure the rate is the very best possible.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Grange for two nights, when we arrived they had a wedding on, and another function as well so the place was very busy, we could not find a parking place, and parked it out on the street at a meter, while we went in, we spoke to the receptionist and she said the hotel would give us a ticket for the car park down the road, but one of the doormen called me outside as he had found a parking place in the car park.
All the staff were very friendly, and very helpful, the breakfast was good, and the service was prompt, we would stay again if we were up that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this super review of The Grange Hotel, we put a lot of focus on our guest service training so it is great when it gets noted in this way.
If you are ever thinking of staying with us again please ask for me personally when booking and I will ensure the rate is the very best possible.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#15 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city centre shops and attractions. It has two restaurants the AA 2 rosette Ivy Restaurant and the informal and relaxed Brasserie. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.