We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish & Chippy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Chippy

Mr Chippy
37-39 Swinegate, York YO1 8AZ, England
01904 633388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 715 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Award winning fish and chips restaurant and take away, high quality and locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. Also pies, salads, jacket potatoes, hot and cold drinks and home-made puddings.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chippy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Treated to a warm welcome when we arrived. We opted for the 2 course meal deal extra-large.

The fish, we had was haddock and was fresh and very tasty with a light crispy batter, I opted for proper mushy peas and my girlfriend had garden peas both came with bread and butter. For sweet we had an excellent crumble and a tasty banoffee pie. All this was washed down with 4 bottles of thirst quenching shandy. Excellent service overall. Couldn’t have asked for better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    47
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

me and the wife were in York yesterday our favourite city having had a good wander round the shops and haunted we were in need of a rest and food we came across a little restaurant called mr chippy we were quickly seated I ordered the classic double burger and my wife had the scampi our food arrived quickly and was hot and extremely tasty certainly one of the best burgers ive ever had the wifes scampi was a super portion and a side of homemade onion rings absolutely fantastic value for money very friendly staff we shall go here again when in York very highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very poor, chips disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having been on holiday in the area I tried this place for fish and chips and found it to be disgusting. The chips are very poor and not very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful but the food is not, I wouldn't be back due to the fish being very average and the chips disgusting. Wasted meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst retaurant in york”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

the chips were not fresh. when we paid the bill they tried to charge us for item we did not eat. a definate no no . would not recommend

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryhope, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wandering York looking for some to eat, came across Mr Chippy in Swinegate. Got a seat outside and ordered fish and chips for 2. What turned up was one the best fish and chip meals ever, large cod with crispy golden batter and a heap of excellent chips, just the way they should be.
Recommend Mr Chippy to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chippy also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mr Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Chippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.