We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel though room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in York
hereford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good hotel though room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.Found the staff friendly helpful and welcoming. Room was as one would expect for this chain. Comfortable bed and mattress, choice of pillows, big flat screen TV and plenty of tea and coffee to go round. Shower cubicle was nice however water pressure is just about adequate. Good for people who like not being wasteful but nothing like a refreshing shower. I was disappointed with the bath towels. They were brand new and dont think they had been washed. This meant a lot of fluff after drying. A schoolboy error by housekeeping staff!

I had a problem with the room heater on my second nite. It was not working and was promptly attended to by the lady at the reception who offered another room but I was happy with a standalone electric heater.

Breakfast could have been better. The dining area is very cosy and the food uninspiring though adequate. I have had better breakfasts with the HIE chain.

Went for a drink to the next door Toby Carvery. Mainly roasts as the name suggests and very little a la carte choice, even more limited if one was vegetarian.

Overall a good stay, there is room for improvement but would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    127
    63
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
114
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A smaller than usual HI Express, but very friendly and comfortable as always. Ignore the driving directions on the website though as they are just plain wrong as it is nowhere near the M1 junction. It's just off the roundabout where the A1036 meets the A1237 on the North East side of York. Restaurant next door was very friendly with good food, and very busy which I guess is always a good sign. Blackout curtains in the room were so good, I almost overslept and did not hear any noise at all from other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mike504170,

Thank you for sharing your comments relating to your recent stay with us.

I am sure future guests will appreciate the directions you have kindly provided. If guests need directions they are more than welcome to call us direct or alternatively visit our MAIN website. Our website enables guests to create a custom map with route details to any IHG hotel they choose. All guests need to do Is find the hotel that they wish to book/enquire about, click on the name of the hotel, then simply click the directions tap below Hotel Information. Due to Tripadvisor’s terms and condition we are unable to put a direct link in this response however I will be putting the link on our facebook page in case anybody is struggling to find it. Please ‘like’ and use the link (find us @ / HIExpressYork).

We would kindly like to request details of the website of which you booked through, this will enable us to check the directions displayed and ensure those details are correct. I really appreciate your support and feedback. I have privately messaged you regarding this and look forward to your reply.

Delighted you found the Curtains to be effective at keeping the light out. It is something we know is important to our guests. All of our newly refurbished Rooms have been fitted with blackout curtains to ensure guests have the best chance to relax and be comfortable when they stay with us.

Again, thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great service and friendly staff, room very clean, modern, nice comfy bed.
Found the shower a bit of a damp squib not very powerful.
Breakfast average buffet fare but adequate no thrills.

overall a nice quiet hotel with great friendly staff.

will definately stop again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Maidy1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel stay experiences with us.

I was really pleased to read of your comments relating to our staff and services; they work hard everyday to try and provide excellent service to our guests that stay with us. Thank you for those kind comments.

I apologise that you felt the shower was not very powerful and will take on board your comments. Normally guests find our showers to be more than adequate so I will ensure this candid feedback is used actively to ensure the continuous improvement of our hotel services.

I am pleased our Express Start Breakfast met your expectations. This consists of 3 hot options and a selection of continental items which I feel gives the guests the best of both worlds; all this is Free and included in guests room rate.

Again, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just spent two nights at this hotel, which was extremely clean, modern and quiet. The staff were wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Although a few miles from York City centre itself the Hotel has a deal with a local taxi firm that we put to very good use. Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Roomeycannock,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was overjoyed about your comments relating to our staff and services. Thank you for your kind comments. I really enjoyed speaking to you both and pleased you enjoyed your special weekend back in the beautiful City of York.

Thank you for mentioning about our location, we are in an ideal area to pop into the Centre, visit York surrounding attractions and close Shopping Centres (Monks Cross and the Designer Outlet). Also as you have kindly mentioned we do have a set rate with a local taxi firm to travel into York City Centre which our guests find really useful at a reasonable cost.

Again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights with wife and nine year old daughter at half term.

The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and polite. The room had the best blackout curtains ever, so much so we nearly missed breakfast on the first morning, but its great you can fill a tray and take it back to your room. The breakfast is the standard holiday inn express buffet perfectly adequate for the money. The main bed was fine, my daughters sofa bed was a bit more lumpy but fine for children. The room was clean, the window opened sufficiently to get fresh air to go to sleep and the road noise wasn't intrusive with it open.

Excellent value overall at less than £50 a night for the room. Will definitely use again if visiting York. Handy for park and ride and only two minutes from the York bypass.

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Toby next door, see seperate review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Duncx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experiences at our hotel.
I was really delighted to read about your comments relating to our staff; they work incredibly hard each day to try and ensure guests have a great experience and in turn will hopefully stay with us again.

We have just completed a full refurbishment in all our rooms. All rooms were fitted with brand new sofa beds by January 2013. I find families are really happy with the functionality and usage of our new sofa beds. Guests don’t have to make up their sofa beds; we do this prior to the guests arrival so they can relax and enjoy themselves easier.

In relation to your rate; I am glad you felt like you were getting value for money.

Thank you again for your kind comments; we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Within easy reach of the centre this hotel gives one a sense of peace and quiet, and a feeling of being in the countryside. The staff during our stay (Sept.2012) were most helpful, kind, and considerate. The rooms were fine, modern and comfortable. The dining area was functional and the breakfast was more than adequate. A bonus - the excellent brasserie pub next door - greta food, great atmosphere, and the beer isn't bad either. Easy driving to Castle Howard, Whitby, Fountains Abbey and Riveaulx Abbey. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Anthony P,

Thank you for sharing your hotel stay experience with us.

I was delighted to read your comments relating to our staff. Everybody works hard as a team to try to ensure all guests feel valued. Thank you for those kind comments.

We are located in an ideal position for exploring the Yorkshire Moors and attractions close by. I am pleased you took advantage of this and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future; we have had all our rooms refurbished and they are really modern and comfortable.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall very satisfied with the hotel, good size room with everything you would expect in it, complimentary breakfast included in the price is what attracted us to stay, would stay again if the need arose. A good overall package for the price, staff all very friendly and helpful, thank you

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mastertortiose,

Thank you for you for kindly sharing your comments relating to your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased the hotel met your expectations and you were happy with the service we provided. Thank you for mentioning about our Complimentary breakfast also – Our Express Start Breakfast is complimentary to all guests that stay with us it consists of 3 hot options (Sausages, Egg, Beans) and a selection of continental items. I think this gives guests the best of both worlds and I am delighted you were happy with this too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.