We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haloween treat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of York Maze

York Maze
Elvington Lane, York YO19 5LT, England
01904 607 341
Website
Improve this listing
Visit York Maze like an insider
AAC_CITY_PASS
$55*
and up
The York Pass
Ranked #7 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: York maze is an a-maizing day out for the whole family. The attraction is based around a giant maze, made from maize plants. We open during the school summer holidays,to give families an amazing day out. With over 20 different rides and attractions, the kids will be kept busy for the whole day! York maze also runs halloween events for families in the daytimes, and teenagers and adults at night during the Halloween half term. We finish the year with a huge firework spectacular set to music, on November the 5th every year. When we are not open to the public, we host weddings in our beautiful barn comlex. It's the perfect setting for a rustic wedding!
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“haloween treat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went to the maze for haloween disapointed though maze had died off so no mystery of where you had to go people had troden plants down and made cut throughs half the maze closed off so could not complete the maze????

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomaze, Owner at York Maze, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi there,
I am sorry to hear you found the maze itself a little dissapointing when you visited us at halloween. We try and make it clear in all our marketing that the "maize maze" is no longer in use at halloween,(it is usually harvested by then!!) but we do use a small part of it for a halloween themed treasure hunt game, that you play with the quiz sheet you recieve on the way in. The plants usually die off at this time of year, which we believe adds to he halloween vibe running through the site?! Hopefully you all enjoyed the other activities we had going on throughout the day, our new "phantomime" has been recieving rave reviews!!!
Tom.
owner, york maze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    163
    50
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HALLOW SCREAM!! OMG was amazing (and very scary)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Hallow scream this year and it was amazing, if you haven't been they you must give it a try. its like the real life X-files!! Zombies chasing you with chainsaws, 4 awesome attractions, very very well done and totally scary as hell, you'll love it!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Kids love this place with a different theme each year they love to chase each other about and there are lots of othe activities to do, take a picnic and hope the weather stays nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Fun - Completely inspired!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff are sublime, it's such a friendly atmosphere and the scaring is amazing. It's such a unique attraction and definitely worth the money. There are new things each year to keep people coming back for more.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fireworks Spectacular was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Fireworks Spectacular was great this year (despite the bonfire troubles at the beginning=)! very well organised and friendly stuff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Maze also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Maze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.