We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homely, Would Definetly Recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's York Holiday Flats & House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Betty's York Holiday Flats & House
Save
You added Betty's York Holiday Flats & House to your Saves list
Gillygate | City Centre, York YO31 7EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Homely, Would Definetly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed in Flat 61 for a week in July 2011. First of all I would like to say we absolutely loved this flat and looked forward to returning to it every evening after a long day of activities as we found it very homely and comfortable.
Upon entering the flat a staircase leads up to the bathroom and living area. The living area makes very good use of space with a two seater comfy sofa and two single seater comfy chairs. In the corner is a Sony Bravia flat screen TV with freeview, which pleasantly surprised me as I was expecting a great big grey TV that is pictured on the website. To the left of this is a four seated dining table and along the left wall is the kitchen units, cabinets, ample utensils and cookware along with a fridge freezer and cooker (unlike a previous review we had no problems with the electric hobs, maybe they are a gas person). We loved the living area the bright green rug, wooden flooring (also a previous review states this is uneven, well it certainaly was not in July 2011) and pictures on the wall created a relaxed athmosphere. There is also a really nice fireplace, but due to the dining table it is hidden, which is ashame really, but cannot be helped as the layout appears to be economical space- wise.
The bathroom has a tall bathtub, with a built in shower, a toilet, a sink and a washing machine/tumble dryer. There is also a mirrored cabinet and a four shelf rack so storage for toiletries is not an issue. There is one window in the bathroom which opens really wide, which is very useful so no condensation builds up. Regarding the washing machine/ tumble dryer i'd recommend you use it during the day when you are out and not at night as it is extremely noisy and shakes the whole bathroom.
Then up a set of stairs leads to the bedroom...... WOW!! I loved this room! there are beautiful black beams and the main window is surrounded by bare red brickwork, these two factors made this room feel very rustic and cosy. In fact when we discovered the bedroom I lay on the bed for a good 20 minutes taking in the surroundings, I thought it was absolutely lovely. The decor of the bedroom consists mainly of a very nice king size (I think or we are just very small people!) bed, a single bed (which I found very useful to escape my partners heavy breathing during the night!) accompanied by bedside tables and lamps. There is a chest of drawers and a wardrobe so plenty of storage space for 2 or 3 people.
Overall we loved our stay in flat 61 and have already talked about going back possibly for a winter break. Even better on the first night we discovered we were right above a sushi restaurant, we are massive sushi fans and bought it most nights to take up to the flat after a long day of sightseeing! The flat is in an excellent location both a 5 minute walk away from Sainsbury's Local and York Minster. Yes the flat is on the noisy side as it is single glazed, but most buildings located in central York are single glazed and anyhow how much time do you spend indoors during the day on your holiday that the noise is going to be of bother. By nightime the traffic is less thus less noise, in turn a good night's sleep! The cleanliness of the flat was up to standard, there was dirt if you were looking for it, but none that stood out. In fact this slight bit of dirt if anything only added to the homelyness, it gave the flat that 'lived in' feeling, if the flat was sterile, super clean, it would not be homely as you would feel scared to live in it for fear of making the slightest bit of mess.
There were very few criticisms about flat 61, most were very minor, all homes have flaws and this one is no different. The main ones though are the flat does get very hot, as the window in the living room does not open, ventilation is a problem. We sort of overcame this by opening the bathroom window and the skylight in the bedroom when we were in the flat, then on the second last day I found what I called the 'secret window' which was hidden behind the blinds in the bedroom window! The other main criticism would be the noisyness of the washing machine, I was half expecting either the washing maching to break through the floor and land in the sushi restaurant or a member of staff from the restaurant to come knocking at the door!
As for the price of the accomodation it was very reasonable, we looked up hotel prices and they were more than that of Flat 61, considering too that you get a holiday home opposed to a holiday room, I think this was a great deal!
I would also like to say Betty is very helpful, especially as we left an item in the flat, which Betty is very kindly sending back to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Upon looking at Bettys website, the pictures of the flats all looked great, so we booked for a week in June 2011. When we arrived the car-park was dereilict with an overflowing bin, we were taking across the road to Flat 59.
We had to walk up a very narrow staircase into the living area, the flat was unclean and the furniture was very out of date. The kitchen was tiny and again unclean. You then had to walk out the living area up a stair to the bathroom, where mould was growin on the taps and the bathroom suite was outdated and unclean!. To get to the bedroom, you had to walk up 3stairs then another 3 stairs all with very low head room, the bed looks nothing like the pictures and with a beam running across the room, makes it very uncomfortable.
The website does not state anywhere that head room would be a problem, the pictures on the website look like they were taken a long time ago and does not reflect the true state of the flat.
We left after 15minutes in the place and booked into a hotel, we received no money back after complaining - VERY DISAPPOINTING. Would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

On arrival, we were very impressed with the location (33 Portland Street flat) - 3 min walk from a Sainsbury's Local and only 5 min walk from Yorkminster and the Shambles. The living / kitchen area and bedrooms were very spacious and a great array of cooking utensils was provided. Always nice to have a dishwasher as well :)

Unfortunately, this is where the positives stop. The main issue we had was the noise level. The flat is fairly close to a busy main road (and ambulance route) so, with no double glazing, you are treated to all the sounds of the city - both traffic and people. What we assumed is a lack of soundproofing in the flat, resulted in us being able to hear the neighbour above at all times of the day / night. On occaisions, it sounded as if someone was coming in our front door or talking in the next room.

Our next major issue was the bathroom layout. The toilet is positioned smack next to the bath which, while fine if you are of average height / weight (or below), will cause anyone outside of this to have major problems using it. An embarassing experience!

A couple of minor snagging issues (although, when combined with above, became irritations):
- the light in the courtyard appears to be on all night making it extremely difficut to sleep in the back bedroom.
- All rooms are fitted with blinds only (no curtains) meaning you are up with the sun. No lie in's on this holiday.
- General clenliness of the flat was adequate but certainly the bath / bathroom tiles really need a good deep clean

Taking everything inot account, we can highly recommend the general location but, unfortunately, not this flat.

Room Tip: Turn the TV source to DVB to get Freeview :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at Flat 33 which was much smaller, grubbier and tired than expected from the website. The bedrooms were as expected but with single glazed windows and only blinds they were quite noisy (as you are very close to town centre, on a busy road and with upstairs neighbours) and not as dark as we would have hoped.
The most disappointing part was that the Kitchen/Dining room and Lounge were one room with all the furniture quite squashed in. It was shabby, worn and although it was basically clean the flat requires a deep clean to remove numerous stains and smells that have come about through use.
We wouldn't stay here again but it is very close to the centre which is its one plus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Betty's York Holiday Flats & House, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
We are very surprised and confused by this comment. We have investigated this matter, the cleaning company also feels it is an unfair comment.
We have had lots of happy returning guests in this flat. One couple has returned to stay Flat 33 every year for 2 weeks since we started to rent the flat out. However we appreciate your comments and will do our best to keep developing our accommodation facilities and service. We always hope that our guests can enjoy their stay as much as possible, that is our goal, and we have had a lot of returning guests coming back year by year since we started our holiday flat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We recently stayed at Betty's York Holiday Flat, in Flat 61.

A few improvements have been made since the last review. The entrance corridor is now well lit, and there is a washing maching in the bathroom of the flat, rather than in the entrance corridor.

The flat was reasonably nice and well furnished. The kitchen was fully equipped, however the hob was a horrible electric hob. The floor in the kitchen/dining area was also quite worn, and uneven. The windows were also single glazed, which on a busy main road, meant there was a lot of noise from the streets.

The bathroom was well equipped, but the shower was quite weak. We stayed in very adverse weather (-2 most of the time!) and the bathroom had virtually no heating in it, making it exceptionally cold, and often resulted in my girlfrined and I running in and out as quickly as possible.

The bedroom was laid out very nicely, and had lovely beams in it. Unfortunately, the king bed was very, very firm, and on the first night, I ened up sleeping on the Futon as it was causing me back ache.

There is no central heating in the flats, instead there are lots of electric heaters. These worked really well every where except for the bathroom.

Overall, it was a nice, well furnished flat in an excellent location about a 5 minute walk from the Minster, and in easy reach of a number of cafes, pubs, wine bars, restaraunts and other facilities. However, it was a little pricey for what it was. Saying this, compared to other prices in York, it was reasonable - seems to be quite an expensive area!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in flat 61. Secure parking was a real boon. The entrance hall is unprepossessing at best - a dark alleyway with a washing machine in it. The falt was on 2 floors. A basic 3 piece leatherette suite was adequate. A decent 4 seater dining table and a small kitchen but well equipped with a full cooker and oven, kettle, toaster and fridge/freezer. There was a better than average supply of glass/china/kitchen equipment - the only thing we really lacked was a colander. There was a TV/DVD but there were very few channels actually available - even freeview ones. The living room/kitchen overlooked Gillygate and the window would not open so it was a tad stuffy; that said it was incredibly noisy, even with the window shut. Some expenditure on secondary glazing would go a long way to alleviating this. The bathroom was large with a nice big tub, plenty of hot water and a good electric shower. The drains were smelly though the bathroom was very clean. The advertised luxury towels were present but in short supply. We had 2 bath towels and 2 flannels but no hand towels at all and there were no spares. There was however an ironing board and iron and I assume we could have used the washing machine in the alleyway. The bedroom was in the roof space and was light and characterful. It also had a window to the front which was double glazed and a velux window so was much quieter and very pleasant. The queen sized bed was firm but comfortable and there was nice bedding and good pillows, also a spare blanket, a single bed and a bed chair. Low doorways meant someone taller needed to be aware the whole time in the upstairs space and on the stairs but we quite liked the character. If you were there in winter there was a plentiful supply of electric heaters and an electric blanket on the bed. The flat was advertised as having high speed wifi which was important to us. On arrival this proved to be unavailable and after 24hrs the owner came up with a dongle for our use which worked but was quite a performance; We appreciated that he had done his best to help but it would have been good to have had the internet available in the first place. The location of these flats is great - just a couple of minutes walk from Bootham Bar and the Minster and with plenty of restaurants and a Sainsbury's local also within a couple of minutes and larger supermarkets a bit further. We paid over £300 for 4 nights which I think was probably a bit steep. All in all a convenient place to stay with good facilities and free parking but sitting space noisy and relatively pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betty's York Holiday Flats & House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betty's York Holiday Flats & House

Address: Gillygate | City Centre, York YO31 7EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 city centre self catering flats and 1 brand new town house ideally situated just 5 minutes walk from York Minster. These contemporary and stylish flats and townhouse are perfect for tourists, business guests and family visitors. They have been refurbished and decorated to a high standard. Guests can expect a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere. The flats can accommodate up to 3 , 4 or 5 people in each; the townhouse sleeps 8 people. All with free private parking & high speed WiFi. Amenities are conveniently close by. Also the townhouse has got a beautiful Minster views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's York Holiday Flats & House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.