We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a question to ask please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompsons Fish Restaurant

Thompsons Fish Restaurant
Hazelbush, Malton Road, York, England
01904-46-80-22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 735 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ripponden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a question to ask please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A fantastic meal we had both of us but can you tell me we have a relative who is gluten free do you cater for them with the batter or would they have to have it with no batter on thank you any help would be appreciated

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    68
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“12.45”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Another Great Meal with my parents,John's Profiteroles were to die for excellent meal in every way thank you

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish n chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic, Fresh, Tasty.
Beautiful food in beautiful surroundings.
Reasonable priced, tasty food large portions. . I struggled to eat it all.

Any one who says you can only get fantastic Fish n Chips from Whitby, needs to try Thompsons . . Perfection on a plate

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic fish & chips, good size portions, cooked to perfection, first class service. It's great that if you don't like your fish in batter you can have it steamed or grilled. Good value for money, we'll worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The best fish and chip restaurant I have ever been to. I was amazed at the huge size of the meals and the taste and freshness of everything. I had cod and prawn fishcakes with salad, a large bowl of new potatoes, an equally large bowl of tiny peas and a jug of "home made" parsley sauce which contained some other delicious ingredient, maybe onion, but was gorgeous. The staff were attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant itself was very tastefully decorated and also very clean. The service was quick and the food was piping hot. What more could you ask for. Excellent !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thompsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompsons Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.