We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual standard of service at Premier ... i.e. excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South to your Saves list
Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South
28 - 40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £75
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in York
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Usual standard of service at Premier ... i.e. excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to have a short break in York and booked through the Premier Inn website. We were advised that the Blossom Street South premises contained the restaurant whereas the Blossom Street North didn't ... although they are almost adjacent and share the eating experience. Three days before we left for York we had a phone call from the hotel (from Charlotte) asking if the double room we had booked needed any extra facilities and we decided to go for a low floor or near a lift, for convenience. When we arrived all had been taken care of. The premier Inn standards seem to get better each time we use their hotels and nothing seems too much trouble ... all you have to do is ask.
Room was a good size, warm and comfy and clean.
Restaurant was superb and the TableTable menu was full of surprises ... all good!
A bus stop outside got us into the city in about 5 minutes or, if energetic, it was a short walk from Micklegate Bar.
We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to relatives, friends and colleagues without a moments hesitation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    333
    55
    7
    6
See reviews for
305
437
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a relatively new Premier Inn and it follows the standard package of good, clean accommodation. This particular hotel doesn't have a carpark, but it is very close to York's beautiful railway station. If parking is important to you the sister hotel next door (Blossom St North) has a small car park. Both hotels are an easy stroll from all the city centre attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've stayed in a few Premier Inns now and have always found the accommodation, location and service to be exceptional for the price. Blossom Street South was no exception, our room was clean, relatively comfortable and the location was good too. A bit of a walk to the city centre, but anyone who knows York will know that you pay a premium to stay within the city walls, so you don't find budget options there. If you were travelling by train it would be great as the hotel is just round the corner from York station. We travelled by car and you can park at the NCP round the corner too for a reduced (20% off) rate - which works out as £9 for 24 hours, but you pay by the hour for more or less than this and still get the 20% discount, you just need to get your ticket validated at the PI.

The only negative (hence the 4 out of 5) was that we did not have a very good nights sleep! I think this was purely bad luck really, there was a problem with the guttering right near our room (located at the back, station-side, of the hotel) and, as we sleep with the window open and there had been heavy rain the during the night, the sound of the water dripping from the guttering and hitting the metal roof below made a constant banging noise, which was very disruptive. As I say, I think we were a bit unfortunate with the location of our room and the rainfall, but when I contacted PI about this they stayed true to their Good Night Guarantee and refunded our money in full.

All in all, despite the sleep issues we are still a big fan of Premier Inns and will continue to stay in them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at Blossom Street Premier Inn in October, on arrival staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean & bathroom was spotless. To top it all bed was comfortable & had extra pillows if you needed them. Would recommend staying here. The meal in the restaurant next door is good value for money if you eat between 11.30-5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just spent a couple of nights on a break in York staying at the PI Blossom Street South.
This is a first class PI hotel, and I've stayed in a few !!
The whole hotel was spotlessly clean, welcome and service from the staff superb and a decent restaurant if you can't be bothered to walk the 10-15 miins to the city centre.
OK - don't expect a wealth of facilities 'cos you don't get them in Premier Inns but given that hotel rates in York are never that cheap, the £49 per room we paid was terrific value for money.
Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this place and will stay here again next time we're in York

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn in York and as usual it was clean and the room was spacious. 30 minutes free wifi was appreciated. The bar restaurant downstairs was fine regards service, a little over priced but there is plenty of choice in the surrounding area. With Premier Inn prices and Yorks' attractions a great weekend was sure. I used a car parking internet site rather than pay £9 per night and not be able to use my car as and when I needed it, just look it up on the web!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

very healpfull staff, spotless room and choice of pillows, breakfast lovely and evening meal faultless...worth every penny a lovely weekend to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday...we visited the minster wich was breath taking ...and bettys tea rooms was deffinetely worth a visit.

Room Tip: we were a family of 3 had a family room ( 125 ) facing back car park very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South

Address: 28 - 40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in York
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.