We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn great as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South to your Saves list
Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South
28 - 40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £75
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in York
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Premier Inn great as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very convenient - 5 mins from train station, 5 mins from town. Nice, clean, airy, bright room and friendly staff. Breakfast fairly chaotic so if you're bothered about that, get down early!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    334
    55
    7
    6
See reviews for
305
437
26
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

First time we've stayed at this Premier Inn, and we found it to be excellent, room up to usual high standard, everyone extremely friendly and helpful in both the hotel and restaurant.
We had planned to eat out in the evenings, but the meals were so good we stayed in. (The specials menu really WAS special, we had venison and saltmarsh lamb...lovely).

We didn't actually eat breakfast at the hotel, it was much cheaper to eat over the road at Wetherspoons....saved us some money to treat ourselves to meals in the evening, though!

Thanks to everyone for a great weekend, our stay at Blossom St South really helped to make our time in York extra enjoyable.

Room Tip: Parking on site is limited to blud badge holders but there is a deal for guests using the nearby NCP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Visited for two nights whilst attending a conference in York. Large room clean and comfortable, helpful staff, good location and value for money. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenhousemuir, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Can only echo the other positive reviews about this place.

Stayed for 2 nights 16th & 17th Sept. Room very comfy, clean and spacious. location hard to beat as only 10mins to city centre, 5 mins from train station but far enough outside to not be bothered by the numerous stag and hen parties that I imagine cause noise for the hotels in the centre.

Bar/Restaurant downstairs is very good, although it's a chain restaurant its a bit better than Brewers Fayre/Hungry Horse.

One bonus for us is that the York food and drink festival was on while we were there and that gave us something different in the city from the last time we were there.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Myself, partner and 5 year old daughter stayed here in September for one night at a rate of £49/room.

This Premier Inn is located within easy walking distance of the train station and the city centre. Car parking is limited around the back of the neighbouring Premier Inn (Blossom St North), or as others have advised, there is more parking at the NCP car park, this cost us £17.00 for 2 days. Upon arriving early in the morning staff were very good at taking our luggage and storing it, and letting us put our champagne and milk in their fridge.

The hotel decor and cleanliness in general was very good. The rooms here are a good size, bigger than most Premier Inns, and the carpets, furniture etc were all in very good condition.

The only negative about the room I could find was a few hairs in the bath, and the shower curtain needed shortening. The most positive aspects about the room (on the top floor) was the good sized bed; the view across the Georgian rooftops, with the beautiful architecture and chimney pots, and distant spires of a church. Also, there is a good air conditioning system in the room which worked much better than those in other hotels I have stayed in.

All staff were friendly, polite and well-trained.

We had an evening meal in the Table Table restaurant next door, the choice was excellent and the food was served hot and fairly quickly. In addition, the prices were very reasonable.

As I always find with Premier Inn, the breakfast was excellent. It was self service - however, the choice on offer for an all you can eat price of £7.99 is good value compared to most chain hotels. Hot items were good, very good quality thick bacon, tasty sausages, eggs with orange yolks and real mushrooms. Continental choices included dried and fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, toast as well as fresh croissants and crumpets.

I would stay here again. It’s an incredibly reasonable price considering the proximity to York.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed for the second time at Blossom Street South and it was as good as the first. Friendly, efficient, clean, comfortable, convenient location - couldn't ask for better!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Brilliant hotel 15 minute walk into the very middle of the city, lovely clean large rooms restaurant was very nice too and reasonably priced. The hotel has a lovely relaxing bar area and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone had a fantastic stay very very good value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South

Address: 28 - 40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.