We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B to stay at in York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waggon & Horses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waggon & Horses to your Saves list
Waggon & Horses
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   19 Lawrence Street, York YO10 3BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great B&B to stay at in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

9 of us stayed at the Waggon and Horses at the end of November for a birthday weekend away. We were warmly welcomed by Tom when we arrived at lunch time and decided to stay and have our lunch. Very pleased we did as it was lovely. We chose pies and the sausages and mash and it was gorgeous, set us up for afternoon shopping in York.
The bedrooms were spotless with plenty of towels for the en suite.
Breakfast was fantastic, fruit, cereal, hot croissants and full English, you seriously couldn't ask for more.
Tom and Paulina were very helpful and had good knowledge of the area.
Fantastic value for money, would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a lovely two night stay at this friendly Pub / Hotel
My Mum And I had a twin room which was lovely , plenty of room with nice ensuite shower room. Room was immaculate too.
Breakfasts which were included were lovely with full English if you wanted .With good quality bacon and sausages.You also had cereals, fruit and gorgeous croissants to help yourself too.
Evening meal in the pub really good too , very reasonable .
I had some local sausages and mash which were great.
Lots of choice of restaurants walking distance too.
I will go back and stay for sure when I next visit York.
10 minute lovely walk into the town centre too

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked the twin bed room which was located at the back of the building and was very quiet.

Clean rooms, small but have everything you need for a short stay. To write anything negative would just be nitpicking.
Breakfast was excellent, second to none and the service of the staff was also impeccable, very friendly, helpful and polite.

Overall and well priced room with a cracking breakfast, didn't get a chance to sample the local ales from the bar which is a shame. Perhaps next time!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely rooms above an olde worlde pub , ten minute walk into york city center .
spotlessly clean room , tea and coffee facilities great .
big filling lovely breakfast , and lovely hosts .
would stay again and recommend to anyone, great pub too .

Room Tip: rooms at the back will be quieter , but we were in the front room overlooking the street , and tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights at this fine establishment & will certainly stay again when next in York! Situated just outside the city walls, it's great for public transport, or there is a car park if you drive there. On arrival I was warmly welcomed by the proprietor Tom, as he was running the bar he called his wife Paulina through to show me to my room. A clean warm room with tea & coffee making facilities & complementary toiletries. The bed was a good size & very comfortable. Great choice at breakfast time of either a full cooked breakfast or cereals etc. the pub itself is what a proper pub should be, great ales, plenty of entertainment such as the rarely seen Bar Billiards! On my second evening I had dinner in the pub fantastically home made by Paulina the chips are epic! On checking out I was able to leave my bag behind so I could explore more of York before my journey home.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great Inn. We popped in for dinner and a pint. Service was attentive, discreet and friendly. And the food.... was just delicious. I had the Chicken of Aragon Pie and my husband had the Venison Pie (Guest Pie of the Week). Both came with a choice of different kinds of mash or chips. This was proper pub food served in an attractive way and we ate every scrap of it, combined with the great selection of hand-drawn ales (Brass Castle's Burn Out Ale was a hit with my other half), lagers (Sagres for me) and Ciders, make this a winner in our book!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Owner at Waggon & Horses, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for a lovely review and some great pictures. There's nothing better than a good pie and a pint and we're glad you liked ours. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break to celebrate my birthday, very friendly and helpful hosts, arrived before booking in time but could still book in so had plenty of afternoon time in York. Breakfast was great and no problems with any request. Rooms were spotlessly clean and good selection on the hospitality tray. It was a pleasure to stay and will be looking to book again

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waggon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waggon & Horses

Address: 19 Lawrence Street, York YO10 3BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waggon & Horses 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Waggon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waggon And Horses
Waggon & Horses Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waggon & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.