We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, not adults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DIG

DIG
St Saviour's Church, St Saviourgate, York YO1 8NN, England
01904 615 505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 132 attractions in York
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for kids, not adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Bought the joint Jorvik and DIG ticket, we went on the 3:30pm slot, avoid this time, you don't get much time after the talk to look around, because it's closing!
This is squarely aimed at kids, which is slightly annoying as adults have to pay, but other than seeing the kids have fun, I can't really see why adults would go?
The kids had a great time and loved the 4 different sites to dig in, the talk afterwards with bones etc was also great. I did feel that after that, the guide couldn't wait to leave and it was made clear to us we had 20mins to look around before it shut, so didn't get a chance to look outside, or look at much else within the building. If you are booking DIG, it's great but avoid the late slots.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great kids adventure at DIG!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

DIG was a great experience to see what adventures archaeologists get up to. Highly recommended for children up to the age of 13, and for all 'older' budding archaeologists!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More for families...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I went because i love archaeology and i had got the YAT pass,i especially wanted to see the looking back at hungate dig display, it was very interesting but on a whole this museum is aimed more for the kids,i will probably take our son here another time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dig”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Following an underwhelming visit to Jorvik we weren't expecting great things from our combined ticket with DIG. Interesting enough but no real archaeology, faked up sanitized soil and lucky dip style moulded artefacts is all a bit, well, dull. Our youthful student guide appeared a little embarrassed to be there and hardly enthused. Guided tour seemed laboured and artificially slowed up, as if needing to be stretched out to make the entrance fee worthwhile. A reasonable diversion but not worth making a special trip for.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is just for kids, and they all seemed to enjoy it. There is an area that they get to dig for artifacts, and identify them. They also have an outdoor area that has some old fashioned toys for them to play with.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DIG also viewed

 

Been to DIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DIG to your Saves list