We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, disappointing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Langhe

Le Langhe
The Old Coach House | Peasholme Green, York YO1 7PW, England
01904 622584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 656 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food from this place is absolutely fantastic, and is well worth putting up with the poor quality service from the waiting staff. Not sure why they have never managed to sort this out, given the effort which goes into the food, a similar amount of effort into the front of house would make this one of the best restaurants in the north of England.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    25
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We regularly eat at this restaurant, the food is really excellant, real Italian food, there's also an excellant choice of wines.
However the service can be really quite poor, on some visits we have been left stood in the doorway waiting for our table.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The fresh pasta is absolutely excellent. The selection of Italian meats and cheeses are also very good. The service is somewhat variable and can be slow. The selectin of food in the Deli looks enticing. Cost is reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Heard a lot about this restaurant and have been twice in last 3 days! I now understand what Italiens mean when they talk about authentic home made pasta! I have never had any as delicious as here. We enjoyed everything...the service,the atmosphere and everything we ordered was absolutely delicious! Some supposedly higher end restaurants could learn a lot from this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful restaurant away from the well trodden streets of York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had the pleasure of having lunch for a graduation meal and the experience was fantastic. The pasta ordered was all very fresh, service was prompt, tables were clean and the outside setting was beautiful. The tasting menu was very unique, unlike any meals I have tried before in other Italian restaurants. Finally, the experience of having ice cream and sorbets in the private garden is a great finish!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Langhe also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Langhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Langhe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.