We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a journey - fabulous Italian food and wine (and a great deli)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Langhe

Le Langhe
The Old Coach House | Peasholme Green, York YO1 7PW, England
01904 622584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a journey - fabulous Italian food and wine (and a great deli)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a York resident for many years, we thought we'd a pretty good idea of the city centre restaurants and many in the surroundings. There's lots that are good or very good but which (to be honest) I can't be bothered to review. A few outstanding ones, which I should review. And also some dire ones, of course.
We'd bought bread, prosciutto and Italian cheese at the La Langhe deli several times and had always intended to try the restaurant. But it never worked out. They were busy. We were busy. They were shut. We were going somewhere else.
But today we set off to make a special trip to have lunch at La Langhe. Didn't book - just walked in on a cold and miserable Monday lunchtime.
A nice place, half full. Filled up a bit more later. I think they open Friday and Saturday evenings and quite a few lunch times but It would be wise to make a reservation I guess.
Believe me, it is worth it. We're now kicking ourselves for never eating there before!
Every mouthful was absolutely superb. A shared antipasti platter followed by calves liver main course. Absolutely perfect ingredients, perfectly cooked and perfectly presented. Washed down with a lovely Puglia wine from a quite extraordinary Italian wine list.
Some reviewers here moan about the service. Perhaps we were lucky. Perhaps they were unlucky. But for food of that quality it would be worth fetching from the kitchen yourself and doing the washing up afterwards! NO complaints from us, the waiter was a very pleasant, attentive and helpful young man from Sicily.
By no means the cheapest Italian in York (we actually have at least four or five other good ones that I can think of.) But, on this experience, La Langhe leaves them all for dead.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    22
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, service needs improving.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First, the food in here is amazing. The produce is of the highest standard, has provenance, and looking at their deli counter it is hard not to see passion for the food. Our lunch choices, deli boards, both parma ham and cheese, where superb, our puddings of rasberry tort equally so. As you would expect, great coffee ended the lunch well.
The issues with service are minor, could be easily overcome with a bit of effort, and would, I'm sure, reap rewards with better reviews.
When we asked for the wine list, the waiter simply pointed to a bottle, no description, we had to coax out of him what the wine might be like, he almost seemed he couldn't be bothered, or didn't know. The timing of service was fine throughout but again, when asking for pudding, the waiter listed options, we asked for rhubarb tart, we got raspberry, and after asking another waiter if it was rhubarb, clearly not, he just kept nodding loudly. We gave up, not because we are dis-empowered dinners, just because it didn't seem possible to sort out the problem and life is too short!
We'll go back lots, the food is that good, but will be aware that we may need to work harder ourselves and make allowances!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sublime food but poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked for lunch and were seated upstairs in very nice room. Eclectic mix of food boxes on way upstairs were charming! Unfortunately this lunch was a mix of sublime food but dreadful service.We waited for approx 30 minutes once seated before anyone acknowledged our presence. Service once it arrived, despite it being delightfully italian was almost 'oh you expect to order'. We ordered the daily specials of pasta followed by main. The goats cheese and pumpkin pasta was absolutlely delicious, as was the ox cheek. Unfortunately the red wine ordered with the food was freezing cold and undrinkeable, it was sent back and an alternative eventually arrived with the main following much debate. Overall this restaurant could be so much better if they only employed enough staff who understood the menu as the cooking is absolutely delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cancelled with less than an hours notice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked a table, rang us with less than an hours notice to say "the chef was ill" and they were closing (we were having a drink opposite in the lovely Black Swan) leaving us in a pickle. Trying to find another nice restaurant on a busy Friday night in York was a nightmare, had to try about another 6 places wandering around in the cold.

Avoid.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food - Very authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited La Langhe on a Friday lunch time and ate in the restaurant upstairs. As we were led up the stairs we noticed several obstacles on the narrow staircase, boxes of food for the kitchen stacked on route to the restaurant which was quite off putting as the kitchen was quite a way round the other side of the building?
Being married to an Italian, my expectations of Italian food are quite high and we are usually disappointed at the (English) Italian restaurants we visit but the food was delicious and very authentic. We chose the crab in a white sauce with pasta (not stated on the menu what pasta it was so had to ask) and the soup, both were superb but when we asked for a little parmesan for the crab pasta, explaining that we knew that it was not the norm in italy, but we liked it, we were told no, that it was company policy that we could not have the cheese - and that was that! Surely this should be the customers choice?
The food here was really delicious but a little work on customer relations and presentation is needed.
If you want to try the real food of Italy this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Langhe also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Langhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Langhe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.