We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavish and stylish and we'll have to go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY LONGER & SAVE MORE
Ranked #3 of 45 hotels in York
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lavish and stylish and we'll have to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Old fashioned opulence combined with every twenty-first century convenience, Big comfortable rooms and big comfortable beds. Art Deco and wi-fi. Marble and mirrors. Courteous and helpful staff who go out of their way to be helpful and ensure you have a perfect stay. Doormen and valet parking. However you take it - traditional values perfectly delivered or seamless post-modern irony - this hotel will take some beating. And it's in the heart of York city, close to the quiet gliding Ouse and a five minute walk from the Minster and the Shambles and all that medieval mullarkey. Great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The Grand and I am delighted to read you enjoyed the hotel. It is good to also read that you intend to return and the team look forward to welcoming you if the opportunity arises.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,375
    316
    123
    42
    22
See reviews for
201
1146
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Powys
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have just returned from the Cedar Court Grand and can not begin to say what a wonderful time we both had. My husband spent alot of time researching hotels for a birthday surprise for me and we both think he certainly got it right He worked very closely with Malcolm ( concierge) to arrange some special surprises for me including afternoon tea, flowers and champagne in our room on arrival. All this was done very discreetly with the biggest surprise being when Malcolm escorted us to our room after afternoon tea to find it had been filled with candles and rose petals. He prepared cocktails for us whilst the butler prepared a bath scattered with rose petals. Wonderful!!
Our room was very spacious and beautifully furnished. The bar and dining rooms where very comfortable. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar before dinner in the grill room. The service we received was excellent with staff being extremely professional but friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Whenever you passed a member of staff they all had a smile and a greeting.
Food was excellent from the afternoon tea to the evening meals.
We travel extensively for business and leisure in the UK and abroad and like to stay in five star hotels. This is one of the best we have been too and can't wait to return again soon.
The whole experience has left us feeling that this was one of the best weekends we have had and we would like to thank every member of staff for making us feel so welcome with special thanks to Malcolm for ensuring all the birthday arrangements were dealt with perfectly, professionally and remained a surprise!
We can not wait to return

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review of your Birthday treat at The Grand, I am delighted to read that our team made such a memorable stay, please be assured I will share your praise with Malcom who is part of our Guest Services team at the hotel who clearly stood out during your visit.

It is fantastic to read that you intend to return to us and the whole team look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We were trying to choose between the Grand and The Royal at York station...So so pleased we chose this hotel.. Firstly we drove past the Royal on the way to the Grand and it did look a little tired and a bit out of the way to be honest. Then.... we drove up to the entrance of the Grand to be welcomed by a smart man in top hat and tails and a valet parking man next to him. The car was taken care of and our bags were taken from us, perfect.... Next we were shown to our room.... The rain and gales outside were unusually bad and the porter said "this won't do at all the window is rattling"... next thing we knew we were in a much bigger better room. He was fantastic and I was going to tip him but he wasn't hanging around, just very polite, good at his job and very well mannered. The room was fab, the bed very comfy and the duvet about a foot deep. We had surround sound into the bathroom and it also had underfloor heating in there too. The bars were very nice and the location is the best, just 2 mins walk from the river (where the Slug and Lettuce pub is) brilliant. The Spa was very clean and we were in there on our own so it was a bit of a luxury to be honest, The turn down service was great, fresh towels again. lip blam... It was my birthday treat from my hubby and we even had fruit, fudge and drinks left in our room with a birthday card. All in all this was the best weekend break ever, we both loved it. Thank you for such a wonderful time, we can't wait until our next visit :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay at The Grand and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. It is particularly pleasning to read that our team stood out and that our staff were proactive in preventing an issue before it arose in moving you rooms due to the wind.

It is fantastic to read that you intend to return and the team here are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Based on the reviews on Trip, this seemed a "No brainer." Fantastic building - in the art-deco style similar to, but not as decorated as the ex-shipping company building, now a hotel, Grand Hotel Amrath in Amsterdam. Huge room, (we stayed in an Executive,) enormous corridors, luxury bathroom. (Hotel has only been open since May 2010.)
Intimate dining experience - choice of brasserie or dining room, (we went for the latter.) Full silver service, staff were fantastic - well trained and attentive. It was like stepping back in time to an older era - not the modern rush, rush, rush we tend to experience in other hotels.
Good spa, excellent location - although once we checked in, we didn't leave the hotel for nearly 24 hours.
Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at The Grand I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience with us and in particular our team in the HQ Restaurant stood out during your stay, I am sure they will be very proud reading your comments.

It is fantastic to read that you are already thinking of your next visit and the team are looking forward to welcoming you when the opportunity arises.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel! My family joke I am a particular customer as I have stayed in many hotels but in the main our stay was superb! The valet parking was efficient and we were quickly shown to our room , which was on the ground floor. I did not feel happy with the room as it had 2 single beds close together rather than a king etc so asked to move, this was met by curteous and efficient staff. The room on first floor was very pleasant indeed. Everything was taken care of and it was spacious and relaxing. The turn down service lovely with a nice touch lip balm left in place of the usual chocolate.
Breakfast was good and afternoon tea great, wonderful food and teas. All staff were very polite and clearly well trained.
The spa is small but perfectly formed enough to spend a nice hour or so. My only fault would be as we entered the spa there was some sort of local resident tour going on..... Not quite appropriate in my view and we did feel 'monkey in zoo' feelings while a group of OAP's were watching us swim!
All round a very good stay and would highly recommend and would love to go back

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our team stood out as friendly and efficient. My apologies if the local residents spoilt your spa experience this was not our intention. This was an organised tour for the Residents Weekend in York that happens once a year and I can assure you on your next visit this won't be the case, we had over 1,000 visitors over the weekend and far outweighed the number of people who we expected to attend due to the interest in the hotel.

I am delighted you intend to return and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Grand in the near future.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Booked Cedar Court Hotel on the basis of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we certainly were not disappointed. We had a standard room which was very big by other hotel standards, modern decor, well equipped and very clean. The service throughout the hotel was wonderfully attentive and stood out as being quite exceptional against other places we have stayed, the concierge service was particularly impressive. We also thought the food in the restaurant was fantastic value for money and really enjoyed the breakfast in our room. We travelled by train and the hotel was just around the corner on foot, but at enough distance not to hear a murmur of a train. Also just a short walk into the centre of town. If we return to York we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review of your stay at The Grand and I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and that our Concierge team stood out during your stay. It is also great to read that you intend to return and all the team look forward to welcoming you when the opportunity arises.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I stayed at the Cedar Court Grand for a weekend in January.

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of town and only 5 mins walk from York station - we got the train up from London and as everything was within walking distance there was no need for a car.

Our room was huge! We requested a DVD player to be placed in our room before our arrival and this was done. It was also nice to be able to choose what sort of pillows/duvet you would like in advance! I liked the character that the hotel had retained from its previous use as the railway headquarters.

We didn't eat at the hotel as it was very expensive, but I suppose this is to be expected in a 5 star hotel. We had treatments at the spa, which was very nice, and the staff were great.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a little bit of luxury during your stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time at The Grand and your fantastic comments about the team here. It is also great to see that your requested preferences were in the room on arrival.

I am pleased to inform all readers of our reviews that we have recently introduced a Guest Services team at the hotel and after making your reservation our team will email you a preference sheet the guest of this review mentions. This preference form allows us to tailor your stay to your particular needs prior to arrival such as particular pillow filling you require, the number of WI-FI codes, whether your staying on business or leisure and if you are visiting for a special occasion for example that then allows us to make sure you have as relaxing stay as possible.

I do hope you will be able to visit us again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you if this is the case.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.