We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a first class hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury For Less
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a first class hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a suite (room 407)during the May Bank Holiday weekend. The service was excellent and provided by friendly helpful staff. The room was clean and well presented with first rate toiletries. We used Hudsons for breakfast and an evening meal. Again, the quality and presentation were without question. We sampled the SPA / pool on a couple of occasions but found it was a bit busy with screaming and hyper youngsters - I was disappointed to find a soiled nappy lying on the changing room cubicle bench - but that's no fault of the hotel more a parent issue. One slight niggle, I found it difficult to readily locate the front vehicle access to the Hotel and finished up stuck in a side street nearby and had to ask directions from the Hotel porter.
The car valet parking service worked without any hitches. We certainly hope to return to the Cedar Grand again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear shark3132

Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. I was very pleased to read that you found our team helpful and friendly. Wonderful that felt your suite was well presented and enjoyed your meal in the Hudson's. We are working closely with the local council to have the lack of signage resolved, I am sorry that you had to difficulties to locate access to the front entrance.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    362
    135
    52
    27
See reviews for
239
1,305
50
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

After reading the reports of previous Tip advisor's, we, a party of 4 decided to visit the lovely York City and this Hotel on April 26 for one night. We arrived by train from Loughborough station which was just a five minutes walk to the hotel. The door men greeted us with a wide friendly smile and helped us to the reception with carrying our cases near to the reception area. The booking procedure was very swift with smiles all round with our cases been delivered to our rooms in record time, the reception manager arrived to give a comprehensive advise on the room facilities which were of a very high specification been clean and very well decorated. With this been a special visit for a birthday we was very surprised with a glass of champagne been offered to each of us which was delivered to our rooms. The breakfast staff greeted us with a friendly good morning which followed with a full comprehensive menu with an excellent choice. We unfortunately did not try the restaurant in the evening but we will return. On leaving the Hotel the porters kindly offered to help take our new purchases and luggage to the station entrance, of which we thanked him very much but declined his offer.. excellent visit..

Room Tip: Having had a small guided tour around some of the rooms we found them all of excellent taste and wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Good morning Harold P

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff efficient, friendly & welcoming. I know our team will be delighted to hear of your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to York.

Warm regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Truley a five star hotel, we had a wonderful stay and could not have asked for better. The service throught the hotel of first class. Can't wait to go back. Close to the railway station, shops etc very good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Good morning lynnesusan1956

Thank you for your review. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel on 03/05/2014, for the start of our 2nd wedding anniversary. The facilities and service will blow your mind, we were made to feel so special and important, and the room was both spacious and stylish. We had breakfast delivered to the room which added to that anniversary magic. Andrea on reception was also very helpful and informative throughout our stay. This hotel delivers on its five stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear rache; b

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your special anniversary. I am absolutely delighted that you both had such a fantastic time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Everything up to their usual Five Star Sevice, Our Favorite UK Hotel ! The Accommodation is outstanding, the Staff all give great Customer Service & the food is wonderful. The Location is Excellent just five minutes from the Railway Station.
Look forward to our next visit !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear beethoven1CumbriaUK

Thank you for your great review. It was wonderful to have you visiting again and we hope to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Great service, comfortable and spacious rooms, large spa with swimming pool. Only a short walk from the train station and just 5 minutes walk from the centre of York. The only improvement that could be made for me is the breakfast - there is not enough choice. However, on the whole it was a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Jamie-yorkshire

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our excellent location. I shall pass on your comments regarding our choice of breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Kind regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

What a five star hotel should be. Wonderful attentive service, a beautiful large room and with as much luxury as you could hope. My shortest review because there's not much else to say other than......perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Neil

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our Hotel.

As Yorkshires only 5 star hotel we pride ourselves on looking after each and every one of our guests to a true 5 star standard, I am truly delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. It is always nice to hear our hard working staff mentioned, as we truly believe that they are the cornerstone of any great hotel.

Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.