We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Fabulous Rooms & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury For Less
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Lancaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Hotel Fabulous Rooms & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked this on line after looking at Trip Advisor and was a little sceptical with it not a City Hotel but was very pleasantly surprised, lovely spacious entrance, greeted at the door and car driven away securely, the rooms are very large we booked a classic nothing special it was twice as big as what you get in London, lovely, the only one complaint is there was a musty smell in the room couldn't figure out what it was but you soon lost it once in there, we were in room 5.
The Bathrooms are great spacious showers, if you can figure out the taps to get it going but once you do its amazing
Breakfast was exceptional, quality cutlery and pots, food was outstanding and service
We will be back in a month.
X

Room Tip: Room 5 was good but they are two twins joined, if you want a double ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    361
    135
    52
    27
See reviews for
239
1,302
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The friendly and accommodating staff made our stay in York extra special. The restaurant provided first class breakfast and dinner. The room was exceptionally clean and maintained. We did not get a chance to experience the Spa, however, will do on our visit to the Grand next year! Absolutely loved everything about this hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited this hotel as part of a work team building trip. Great staff, fabulous hotel, rooms gorgeous, food fantastic. Wish I could've stayed longer. Felt like I was in pretty woman!!! Stay here. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cedar Court, I can honestly say it lived up to all our expectations. I had been concerned at the check-in, being told several times that our room was not quite ready and that it just be 'a few more minutes' After half an hour of waiting, to the hotels credit, they gave us an upgrade from a deluxe room to a full suite - fantastic ! The breakfast is very good and we ate in the grill restaurant one night which was also very good - although not cheap. The service was very helpful, as you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, but it was also friendly. Overall I can thoroughly recommend it - especially if you can get an upgrade !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned after the most amazing stay at the Cedar Court Grand. The staff are attentive and friendly, going out of there way to offer assistance, the room we had was on the 4th floor (Deluxe Room) and it was just amazing, we simply could not fault it. The breakfasts were very good as was the dinner in the Grill Room.
We used the Spa facilities and found these to be very good too and never busy.
I would without hesitation saty here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful building, sympathetically given a modern twist, in a great position. The first room I had (207) looked onto a blank wall/was directly overlooked by another room 5m away, and also by an office block. Bad enough, but it had no net curtains, so avoid this unless you are a flasher or don't mind getting dressed in the bathroom. As I had prepaid 6 months before, I would have thought I'd have been allocated one of the better rooms; I do hope it's not tacit policy to give single female travellers the worst rooms on the assumption they won't complain. The receptionist was very happy to give me another, with open dual aspect. Lovely rooms and bathrooms and nice touches like proper coffee and cafetieres.

Shame the swimming pool was out of use on my visit due to chlorine levels, as the pool/spa looked very inviting. I shall definitely visit again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Centrally located in York staying at this hotel was a pleasurable experience from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble for the pleasant, ever helpful staff. Even a forgotten razor was not a problem as one was brought to the room in minutes.
The evening meal was excellent and the service was attentive without being intrusive.
The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.