We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Spa&DineTwilight Package
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a girls trip to York and I would recommend the Grand to anyone. A beautiful, luxurious hotel where we really were looked after. The spa was a delight and the molten brown toiletries a lovely added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    395
    152
    58
    28
See reviews for
268
1,474
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of July while travelling through England and Scotland. A total of 5 nigts and I must say it was a fantastic experience. The beds were comfortable. The staff were exceptional and treated us like Family. The concierge "Jordi" was outstanding and knew everything he needed to know to direct me throughout York..Including a fanstatic Sunday roast spot. All in all, the hotel represents itself well and I did not see any disapointments....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Cedar Court Grand is simply wonderful. We stayed in a standard room and it was beautiful. The room is the largest I have ever stayed in, the bed is big and comfortable and the bathroom with its heated floor boards and Milton brown products is heaven. I love that the w/c and the bathroom are separated into different rooms.
The hotel is just around the corner from York central station. I would suggest getting the train if you can as parking cost us a small fortune.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I hope to return soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now. It is nothing short of superb. If you want to escape the world and emurse yourself in Luxury, in a lovely city, this is it.
The rooms are big, comfy. The beds are double comfy. Especially after you've had a good few Hendricks and Champaigne cocktails from the bar.
The quality of the spa is second to none. It can get busy, so book treatments in advance.
More than anything, people buy from people. Every person who I have encountered at the hotel cannot do enough for you. It's not OTT either. The tone is perfect. From Ben to Jordi to Beverley. To feel this much like home after 3 visits..... They have to be doing something right eh..
Keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is elegant and opulent in most respects, but is found wanting in one or two. Our room was large and and very comfortable, while not a great view, it was light and airy overlooking the courtyard and the city. The bar, lounge and 'Whiskey Room' were very elegant and comfortable. The light lunch we had was very good and well served. The location of the hotel is ideal, right in the center of the town and very close to the train station.
The service, on the whole, was faultless, with an extra high mark for the concierges, particularly the kind gentleman who went out of his way to locate and retrieve my favorite hat that I had left in a cab or restaurant the previous night.
The negatives: the faucets in the sink and shower were strangely constructed and difficult to use.
One or two of the front desk staff, while polite, were not very warm or empathetic. Additionally, if one is traveling by train which departs at 3p.m. a request for a somewhat later check- out than 11a.m., possibly 1p.m. or, at least, 12p.m., should be accommodated in an expensive, five star establishment such as this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent three days at the Cedar Court Grand, It was ideal for our trip to York. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk easily to most of the interesting sights. It is by the City Wall and close to the station.

The staff were very friendly and professional. Our room was large and the bathroom facilities were outstanding. The bed was comfortable and we had a good TV...important as we needed to watch the end of the Tour de France. Next year, of course, the Tour will be in York.

Two things were less than perfect. The view from our room was not good and the restaurant was not to our taste as it was five star rather over the top...however my fillet steak on the bone was outstanding, unfortunately the thick chips were not to my taste!!

All in all we would go back but would not eat dinner at the hotel as there are many good places within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Would like to compliment all the staff on their extremely friendly and helpful service. Our room was huge with first class facilties. Like other contributors we loved the Molton Brown products and the spa facilties. We particulary loved the terrace bar which made us feel as if we were somewhere in the mediterranean albeit the temperatures were in the middle 20s! The full breakfast included in our package was excellent albeit rather slow but this did not detract from the quality of our stay. It was good to relax and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.