We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service, delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury For Less
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great service, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a meeting here and an over night stay.

Our conference co-ordinator (Steve) was incredibly responsive, cheerful and coukdn't do enough for us. Food was fantastic and there was plenty of it.

Stayed in a room I haven't had before. All the rooms are well maintained and luxurious.

My only gripe is that the wifi didn't work in our meeting room or my bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    362
    137
    52
    27
See reviews for
242
1,309
50
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and My partner booked this hotel for our anniversary. On first impressions of walking in we were extremely happy. From The doorman to our room all of the staff were friendly and helpful.
We Stayed for 1 night in room 505. The room was fantastic! We had a great view of york from our window, the room was absoubtly immaculate and very nicely decorated.
The staff were all very helpful, if there was anything we needed they were there to help, and made that clear.

will defiantly visit this hotel again, hopefully for longer next time! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this property during the easter bank holiday.

Overall we thought the hotel was quite nice, the room was fairly large and well appointed, the valet service was pleasant as well (but it can, given the cost...). We had dinner at the hotel restaurant once, and it was decent.

However, a few things were quite disappointing for a property of that category:
- granted, the weather was unusually cold, but the heater in the bedroom was far from sufficient, and the electric heater they brought us was doing a much better job, but was incredibly noisy
- the underfloor heating in our bathroom wasn't working either
- the spa was full and we couldn't try it unfortunately. Given the number of rooms in the hotel, I think extending the opening hours of the spa, or increasing the number of staff there may be a good idea
- we used the gym (which was quite good), but the jacuzzi wasn't working
- the breakfast buffet was average, and the cooked-to-order eggs florentine I was served were just inedible, as the hollandaise sauce was pretty much just butter
- I wish I had been able to communicate all these things at check-out (because I do like to provide constructive criticism), but the employee who took care of our check-out was quite cold, and never asked about how our stay was...

So we did have a nice week-end, but the hotel was a bit disappointing for a 5* property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at hotel for York races , amazing welcome ,check in fast and service superb , ate in restaurant , absolutely beautiful food , had to wait an hour for drink ordered from bar , service excellent to begin with , but bread offered arrived at main course , then after waiting twenty minutes for plates to be cleared , had to ask for this to be done , seemed very flustered but very busy due to races , room beautiful ,top quality and huge , only problem street noise woken at 12.30 by revellers this carried on till 4am , and we were on 2nd floor , didn't complain at time as was middle of night , this is only thing that would deter me from staying at this fabulous hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as a treat for a relaxing weekend away from our busy schedules.
I am just disappointed we couldnt stay longer as 1 night wasnt long enough! From the moment you arrive outside to the minute you leave the staff are friendly and polite and will help you in any way they can.
The whole building is stunning, our room was fantastic spotlessly clean and lovely and relaxed no noise from other guests even tho our room was next to the lift we heard nothing! The bathroom was fantastic I loved the huge deep bath and obviously the molton brown products to use in it were an added bonus! We dined at the hotel and had drinks the bar also which we also couldnt fault!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and cant wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at the Cedar Court. The hotel is quite grand but also very friendly, and our room was beautiful - wonderful view, very comfortable bed, and an especially impressive bathroom. It was also impressive that, although the hotel was busy, we did not hear a peep from any other guests. Our room was completely quiet.

The only disappointment was the bar/lounge, where the waiter seemed inexperienced and clumsy. Everything else was top-notch, and made it worth staying at this expensive hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife & I have just had 3 nights here, my treat to her for our wedding anniversary. It was a delight. If you like modern facilities with old fashioned charm and courtesy, this is the place to be. Every one of the staff we met were polite, efficient and courteous. The whole ambience gives a quiet, restful feel, you can't help but relax. Our room was everything it should be in a hotel of this calibre everything had been thought of. The beds and linen are gorgeous and we slept well here. The location is fabulous. Easy to get to & near to every attraction. I can fully recommend a stay here and we look forward to going back very soon. Thank you Cedar Court York. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.