We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you could wish for when on a city break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Spa&DineTwilight Package
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Has everything you could wish for when on a city break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I returned on Thursday from a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. On arrival we were greeted with the news that there was a problem with our room but would we like a drink while it was sorted? A few minutes later still a problem with your room I'm afraid so we've upgraded you and you're luggage is already there. This was the level of friendly service and efficiency we experienced throughout our stay both in the main hotel and spa. Breakfast delicious and varied and I would thoroughly recommend the grill room and afternoon tea. All in all a beautiful hotel definitely deserving a top notch review!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    395
    152
    58
    28
See reviews for
268
1,473
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed with my daughter and four month old granddaughter for two nights. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff could not do enough for you, in a very friendly and genuine manner. Location could not have been better; literally less than five mins walk from railway station and into the centre of town.

I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner treated me to a stay at this lovely hotel whilst we spent a few days in lovely York. Location is fantastic, close to the railway station and only 5 mintues walk into the
centre. The food was outstanding, quite easily the best steak I have ever had along with an amazing eggs florentine for breakfast of which the quantity and quality of food was excellent. Service across all employers of the hotel was brilliant from reception, the spa staff, the doorman to the waiting and room staff. An amazing hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room facing the city walls and Wheel of York
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have just had an overnight stay for a Valentine's break and what can I say..... WOW
from arriving at the front entrance to be greeted by the doorman ,to the receptionist ,the porters etc we were treat like royalty !!.The hotel is a stylish and elegant and the rooms and bathrooms are huge .We did not use the spa but it looked to have good facilities and also we didn't eat in the restaurant for an evening meal so cannot comment.The location is also excellent.I was fortunate to book through Secret Escapes and in doing so made a substantial saving,so alas it may be a while before we visit again ,so I would like to say a big THANK YOU.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday and could not be more pleased with the accommodation. The majority of staff were extremely polite and courteous and the location is perfect for exploring within the city walls.

Upon arrival we were fortunate enough to receive an upgrade to a deluxe room, of which we were incredibly grateful. The room was spacious, had high quality finishings and unlike most hotel rooms was equipped with everything one could possibly need - including a full length mirror! We had room 306 which also features a his and her bathroom which included a large waterfall shower and bath as well as underfloor heating.

The use of the spa was included and was a pleasant experience. The system for using the spa was efficient and the facilities of a high standard including large pool, sauna, steam room and hydra pool/Jacuzzi. The facilities were rather busy due to it being half term.

We ventured out on a tour and for dinner in the evening and were pleasantly surprised to return to our room to find our bed ready for our return, water and glasses already placed on the night stands and some chocolates on our pillows. Just what you need after a day on your feet exploring the city.

The following morning, we received complimentary continental breakfast. Again, staff were friendly and personable, referring to us by name. The selection was large to cater for most tastes and the food tasty.

Check out was easy and the hotel kindly stored our luggage whilst we continued to explore the city prior to our train departure.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to others. It is perfectly located, offers luxurious relaxation after a day exploring the city, has helpful and friendly staff who take pride in their work and go that extra step to make your stay special and serves good quality food.

We had a wonderful stay celebrating my husbands birthday and will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, and excellent service from the receptionist, doorman, concierge, porters, bellboys etc. turn down service and complimentary shoe shine. i have stayed at the best hotels all over the world and the worst service is always found in Britain. Not at this hotel! The customer service is the best I have experienced in this country and the only quibble I found was the bar staff at the whiskey lounge were particularly slow at taking orders. Apart from that, relaxing, lovely spa and spacious, luxurious rooms with nice big bathrooms. And Molten Brown bath gels too!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had afternoon tea in the grill room, a very pleasant early 20th century pannelled room. Sadly, the back ground music was rather loud (so, not very 'background') and also not in keeping with the period. We had a range of sandwiches, scones and jam, and a selection of cakes of teas and coffee. This was all very good. It cost just short of £20 per person. The service was very prompt to start with but later it was difficult to find any staff to bring us more hot water or to settle the bill at the end. Maybe they had gone off to have their own tea!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.