We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term mini break in York very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Spa&DineTwilight Package
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Half term mini break in York very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, and excellent service from the receptionist, doorman, concierge, porters, bellboys etc. turn down service and complimentary shoe shine. i have stayed at the best hotels all over the world and the worst service is always found in Britain. Not at this hotel! The customer service is the best I have experienced in this country and the only quibble I found was the bar staff at the whiskey lounge were particularly slow at taking orders. Apart from that, relaxing, lovely spa and spacious, luxurious rooms with nice big bathrooms. And Molten Brown bath gels too!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    395
    152
    58
    28
See reviews for
268
1,473
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had afternoon tea in the grill room, a very pleasant early 20th century pannelled room. Sadly, the back ground music was rather loud (so, not very 'background') and also not in keeping with the period. We had a range of sandwiches, scones and jam, and a selection of cakes of teas and coffee. This was all very good. It cost just short of £20 per person. The service was very prompt to start with but later it was difficult to find any staff to bring us more hot water or to settle the bill at the end. Maybe they had gone off to have their own tea!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband andf I stayed at Cedar Court the night after our wedding and from start to finish our stay was perfect. The staff are fantastic and very welcoming. The actual hotel itself is simply stunning. The rooms are spacious and the spa is definatelty worth a visit. We spent 2 days in York and the 5 minute walk into town made this hotel ideal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Cedar Court Grand the night before a small conference being held at the hotel. Extremely well located to the station. Beautiful building, with lots of character and story behind it. Staff in the reception area were excellent, helpful and friendly. Rooms were lovely, with a couple of small issues dealt with quickly. Nice touches such as robes and weather report for the following day left on the pillow. Restaurant and food was incredible, with two of the members of staff being particularly attentive and friendly to our party. Breakfast choices were plentiful and varied. A big thank you to the hotel for such a wonderful stay and I have recommended to family and friends, as well as started booking my next stay in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I took my wife for a romantic night in York for valentines day
We booked the executive suite which was on the ground floor
During the day it was lovely and quiet but from approx 10pm until 5am it was like being in the middle of a night club there were people shouting and fighting all night from the 3 clubs which were near our room there was a fire exit just outside our window where drunks seemed to want to sit on the steps before going home
It was that bad we almost left at 3am to go home

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently returned from a fabulous weekend in York, and the Cedar Court Grand was a lovely place to stay. The location is excellent, just a few minutes stroll from the train station. Apart from a few small complaints, our stay was perfect. Our room was large and comfortable with an extremely comfortable bed and a large marble bathroom and seperate toilet. The turndown service with mouthwash and weather report for the next day was a nice touch. Breakfast was good, but the continental selection on the second day wasn't as good as the first. For the price paid - in excess of £220 a night - I think a cooked breakfast should be included instead of only continental (cooked breakfast carries an additional supplement).

The staff were courteous and friendly. The room was well equipped with tea and coffee and mini bar, and the bathrobes and towels were nice and fluffy. Guests can go down in the lift to the spa in the basement wearing their robes and slippers. The spa itself was nice and the staff were helpful.

On our second night we asked if we could make a reservation for dinner, and were told that it was busy but that they would check to see if they had a table available and would call us back in a couple of minutes. They didn't bother to call back, so we didn't bother to eat there and dined out instead. This lack of service shouldn't occur in a 5 star hotel. We did enjoy cocktails in the cocktail lounge when we returned, and the selection and service was very good. Upon check out we were overcharged by £100, again a bit annoying, but quickly sorted. All in all, a very comfortable stay and we would stay again when in York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.