We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and outstanding staff - That great booked again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury For Less
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and outstanding staff - That great booked again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my partner spent one night at the Cedar Grand on the 8th of Feb, as a Birthday Celebration.
We are a young couple and in no way are we posh, people in previous reviews have mentioned feeling judged, but i would strongly disagree. All staff were very helpful and friendly espically Jordi who showed us to our room and explained what all the different dials etc in the room controlled.

Debit or credit card pre-authorisation required when checking in. No charge if credit card, but £100 if debit card swiped. This is refunded if you don't run a room tab,

Valet parking is £20 which is quite good considering how much parking is in York anyway. Just slightly embarrassing when your driving a shed of a car haha!

Hotel is only minutes away from the busy centre of York, but we didn't hear a single sound whilst in our room!

We stayed in a executive room, which consisted of a huge bed which so comfortable you basically sank into it and didn't want to get up!
A flat screen tv
A well stocked mini bar
Table and chairs
dressing table
large wardrobe with plenty of drawers and hanging space
a shoe rack

Bathroom was beautiful
His and hers basins
His and hers twin showers
Large marble top bath big enough for two
Seperate toilet
Under floor heating
Speakers in ceiling of bathroom to listen to tv/music
Large and plush towels
Lots of Molton Brown products

We ordered room service on a few occasions and the food was lovely and very well presented. I don't think the food was overpriced for the quaility and the standard of service.
Its a £5 tray charge as with most hotels for room service

Cleaners come into room between 6pm and 9.30pm for the turn down service, bed is all prepared for sleeping, weather forecast, mouthwash and lipbalm left on pillow which i thought was a lovely touch and our bathroom has been tidied and i am positive the towels changed

Overall not a bad thing to say about this hotel and I think this hotel is worth every penny, so much so we have just booked again for my Birthday in March and i can not wait

I hope this is helpful to those reading :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    362
    137
    52
    27
See reviews for
242
1,309
50
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for our Afternoon tea and our bags and coats were taken for us, we were shown to our seats. We were given a menu to pick which tea we would like and brought water whilst we were waiting. The afternoon tea was amazing lots of sandwiches and cakes. If you get chance to go the chocolate square cake was amazing !!! It was a truly special experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped for one night as a wedding anniversary treat. Well situated and with smart public areas. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

However, for the price we paid there were one or two small hiccoughs that you don't expect in such a grand hotel. Our tv didn't work in the room and we had to call for maintenance (quickly sorted admittedly) and it was clear that our room would be cold in winter weather (we were offered a separate heater if we needed one). Having booked for an inclusive breakfast, we were surprised to find it was only a continental option and that a cooked breakfast was a further £10 per person (the room was £230 for the night).

One or two other little oddities that made us think the management needs to get better systems. At the breakfast buffet, if you lifted the glass cover off the cheese or salmon servers, there was nowhere to put them down. Inevitably guests had to do a kind of juggling act with the cover, their plate and the serving tongs. Hard, also, to understand why it takes 15 minutes for toast and coffee to be delivered to the table.

These, I'm sure, will sound like nitpicks, but in a hotel that has 5 star pretensions these kind of things should not happen.

I agree with another reviewer, good as this hotel is there are better places to stay in York for less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay in this lovely hotel.The staff service and cleanliness were first class.Dined in the restaurant one evening and it was beautifully served and a good meal We felt a little over priced as have eaten better elsewhere however would recommend if you want to stay in.The spa area was also good with a nice pool and treatments.Breakfast was good on the first morning but had a small problem on the second morning-this was soon sorted out with many apologies.We stay at all the top end hotels and this is among the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms large and very clean. A cleaner comes twice a day, once to clean and once to put the night quilt on and leave the next days weather forecast. There are lots of little extras. Toiletries and lip balm and mouth wash etc. The towels are thick and plush and the bedding the same. Service is brilliant too. However... it does have a few little let downs. On arrival we found that although the welcome off some staff was friendly, we felt others were judging us. This is mainly because we had to pay £200 on arrival as deposit (we had already paid for our room in full so wasn't expecting this) and being a young couple we didn't have a credit card to pay with. Nowhere when we booked the hotel did it say there would be this charge so we had little money left to enjoy our 2 days in york. Also, it was my partners birthday. I had earlier in the week rang to organise champagne on arrival and a note saying happy birthday, however only the champagne was there and no note which I found a little dissapointing for a 5* hotel. That aside, the only other thing I could say is the air con in the room was quite noisy and kept me awake and when turned off the room got quite warm. I don't think I would return to this hotel simply because I feel there are other places to stay in york that are just as nice (maybe without as many toiletries) and better value for money. I would recommend this hotel to older people who don't mind putting on a posh voice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with work for a two day conference.
The hotel is lovely and the service was excellent.
I had an executive room - the bathrooms were lovely, and the bedroom was one of the best I have stayed in.
Attention to detail is what made the difference - molton brown cosmetics, comfy robes, well stocked mini bar, handmade short bread to name a few.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I have previously visited this hotel on business and was inspired to take my wife for a weekend away. The staff immediately make you feel special and welcome - the luggage was taken in, the car was parked for us and we were shown to our room. Although a standard room it was very large and well equipped with a huge bathroom. The attention to detail is superb and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. Didn't eat in the restaurant but only because there was a local bistro we had been urged by friends to try. The bar area is very homely with attentive but relaxed service and a staggering selection of whiskies. The position could not be better - 5 mins walk from the Minster. The staff could not do enough for us and the whole atmosphere was relaxing rather than formal. Breakfast was good with a comprehensive continental buffet as well as a great range of cooked offerings. The standard room tariff is not cheap but watch out for offers. Sadly didn't get the chance to check out the spa which I am told is fantastic. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.