We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious rooms, efficient service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY LONGER & SAVE MORE
Ranked #3 of 45 hotels in York
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious rooms, efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in the Cedar Court Grand on a girls weekend away with my sister. We shared a room which was really spacious and comfortable. All of the ceilings in the building and in the bedrooms are incredibly high. It felt like a really grand place to stay and the service was friendly and courteous - I like a hotel that provides bathrobes and slippers in the room, lovely toiletries and offers a turn-down service in the evening!

We didn't try out the spa, we were too busy out shopping and having tea at Betty's which is a good itinerary if you are planning an overnight stay with the girls.

We had a quick G&T in the bar before heading out for a meal elsewhere (Burbridges - lovely) and a night on the tiles in York (Kennedy's Bar - good, closes at 2am; Voodoo - a bit grim but necessary if you still want to dance the night away).

My only nitpicking criticism of the room would be the miniscule sink in the bathroom. For the size of the bathroom and any human staying at the hotel, the sink was too small. I expect it is something to do with the fact that the bathroom was modified to be suitable for any disabled travellers, but I would still value a bigger sink if I was disabled I think. My only nitpicking criticism of the service would be the length of wait to be seated for breakfast on Sunday morning which was about 15 minutes - but the staff dealt with this with wonderfully - so only one star lost.

A lovely hotel in a great location just 5 mins walk from the train station and 5 minutes walk along the amazing city walls to the shops. Perfect for a pampering weekend away with the girls or with your other half.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106. Lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you for taken the time to comment on your room and breakfast experience. You are correct, the smaller size sink was due to the fact that this room has been modified to an accessible room, and I hope it was not too inconvenient.

Please accept our apologies for the wait for breakfast on Sunday morning, however I was delighted that you felt our staff dealt with it wonderfully. Our breakfast timings are extended over the weekend from 7.00am - 10.30am. Understandably, most guests favour a late breakfast on Sunday morning and we find that 09.30am - 10.30am is the most popular time.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Warm wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,375
    316
    123
    42
    22
See reviews for
201
1146
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had heard about the Cedar Court Hotel through friends, and we all aspired to try it out. My opportunity arose with a last minute work trip (arriving Sunday) so it was ideal. The Cedar Court is special before you even get inside. Valet parking from polite and very friendly concierge staff, rapid check in and a fabulous old building which has been restored whilst retaining its important history as HQ of the old Great Northern Railway ( I think). It didn't feel like any hotel I had stayed in before. The corridors are grand (you could drive a train along them) with large windows and have retained the cast iron radiators in GNR colours. I had a classic room and it was spectacular both in quality and size. Floor to ceiling windows with high ceilings and superb quality fittings. I wonder what the executive rooms look like?! I lay in bed thinking about all the grubby average hotels in London where I have paid more a night than I was paying here.

I am already planning to go back with my wife and to perhaps make this a regular indulgence because everything about it was a quality experience.

I didn't try the restaurant as I had been booked into a local restaurant for an evening meeting but the rush was tyo get back and enjoy this hotel. A masterpiece. Check out next day was just as smooth and easy as arrival, and my car was waiting outside with the concierge for only a few pounds more tan struggling with bags from the NCP across the road.

Room Tip: They all seem fantastic but there are roadworks 9-5 Mon to Friday so I would avoid the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

Fortunately, the roadworks are only temporary and we hope that they will be completed before too long.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a great character. Much appreciated by a wary traveller. The spa and pool are great. The rooms are large and the location is perfect. I stayed in other York hotels at similar price and the rooms and service was not comparable. A great find in York.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your delightful review on your recent stay at The Grand.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! It is amazing - had a beautiful stay here, pricey but worth every penny. The service is amazing!
We ate in the Grill room, which lived up to its aim of styling itself on other great hotel grill rooms like the Savoy or the Grosvenor. The food was fabulous - the highlight being the deconstructed tiramisu. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear happy75london

Thank you for such wonderful review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand soon.

Warm wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Met an old friend here for a night away from families and a great catch up and the hotel delivered all that we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had enough that was out of the ordinary (fantastic bathroom with underfloor heating and tv sound piped in) to keep us entertained and the spa was great too. The location is perfect for the station and a short walk into the centre of York. It was a perfect place to stay, can't fault it and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Mrs C

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay, found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed the comfortable accommodation.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well done to all at Cedar Court Grand Hotel, super hotel. first visited when the hotel opened 2010 and returned to celebrate my husbands birthday November 2012 standards still excellant.Staff could not have been more helpful,food superb room very spacious,great location to explore york.Keep up the good work,thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your marvellous review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay as much as the first visit to us in 2010. I will pass on your lovely comments to all our team members as I know they will be as pleased as I am.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel on your next visit to York.

Warm wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend of pure luxury to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a junior suite which was immaculate and decorated in keeping with the fascinating history of the building, Every aspect of your stay is thought about from the valet parking on arrival, easy check in and concierge service to the turning down of your bed, the in room facilities and fantastic food. Our trip was started, after we had been stuck for an hour and a half in traffic to get there, by our concierge, Jonti arranging glases of complementary champagne to be brought our room which was a lovely touch. From there we were given advice on where to eat in the city, the best way to access the sites, outstanding breakfast service to our suite and the food in the Grill, one of the hotels restaurants, was exceptional. The on site Spa offers treatments for everyone and the pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were a lovely way to finish a chilly afternoon's walk round York and get us ready for our meal. You're less than a 5 minute from the centre of York, the beds are huge and so comfy perfect for unwinding after a day batling the shoppers and sightseeing. The rooms have robes, slippers, irons, hairdryers, gorgeous Moulton Brown shower gel etc, a safe and tea, coffee, cookies and an expresso machine.
The only problem we had was one of the his & hers showers did not work, we reported it to reception who were most apologetic but, my husband being a plumber's merchant, we knew a part would be required so this would not be fixed in our stay. The other shower worked fine, very powerful and the soak in the rolltop bath was heaven. Touches like the underfloor heating in the bathroom and the speaker system so you could listen to the radio whilst in the shower show the thought that has gone in to making your stay so enjoyable.
The price of our weekend was comparable to hiring a cottage in the lakes so for us it was a no brainer, luxury and being treated like royalty wins everytime!
We treated ourselves to the suite and it was worth every penny but I know people who have stayed in the standard rooms who have assured me these are just as well equipped and luxurious, we'll definately be back again hopefully before the next 10 year anniversary!

Room Tip: Junior suites are lovely and the separate seating area means you have the option to eat in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your grand review of your recent stay with us.

How wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were truly spoilt for your 10th wedding anniversary. We hope you won't have to wait another 10 years for your next visit. I was disappointed to read that the second shower was not working and will have our maintenance team look into this. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you back at The Grand on your next visit.

Best wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.