We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury For Less
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great hotel with really spacious rooms (executive rooms). We loved the fact this building used to be the old sorting house for the Post Office - lots and lots of orginal features!!

Polite and friendly staff.

Very moden spa with an excellent jacuzzi. After a long day of walking round York, it was great to relax in the pool/sauna/jacuzzi. It always seemed to be quiet there which was nice.

Centrally located in York and close to all the attractions - literally 5 minutes walk to York Minister. Parking is also available at the hotel which is a big bonus.

Next time we visit York, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular our spa.

I would also like to inform you that I think you have been mistaken with regards to the buildings history. Until 2005, the building was in fact the HQ for The Great North Eastern Railway, and not a sorting house for a post office. For more information on the buildings history, please contact us direct and we’ll be happy to send you something.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    362
    135
    52
    27
See reviews for
240
1,306
50
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Cedar Court Grand over the weekend. The overall experience is just what you want when getting away from the usual everyday hussle and bussle. It starts from the friendly and helpful welcome from the reception staff who make sure your arrival is as smooth as can be. The room we stayed in was more like an appartment than an hotel room. Spacious with three piece suit and two seperate bathrooms one with shower one with bath.
We decided to eat at the Hotel in the Grill Room in the evening and again everything was Five Star. The service, the meal and the room. We will be going back to the Hotel and would recommend The Cedar Court Grand to anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and our award winning Grill Room Restaurant.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had in the main another enjoyable visit to York, we have been a number of times before but not at the Cedar Court. After being dissapointed elswhere we decided to give the 5 star Cedar Court a go.
The Cedar Court is essentially grand with plenty of space and corridors motorway wide, lots of very helpful people make booking in and getting to ones room as seamless as possible despite the weather outside.

Firstly one of the televisions in the "Suite" appeared to have ideas of its own , but this was fixed after we went into town, quite why housekeeping hadn't made a note I do not know.
One of the windows had poorly affixed furniture meaning that the gale outside was magnified somewhat inside quite overpowering the aircon/heating system that will always struggle in a room with such high, next floor up, ceilings.
Eventually someone came with more screws and fixative to stop the draught, but now the window would remain closed for the duration, very annoying when one likes fresh air. (not gales)

Also the seemingly void space in the room was finally filled with the table and chairs so that the in-room dining experience could be appreciated, one reason for it not being there was difficulty in getting it down the corridor !!

Also we noted from marketing that " Full Suites" had a separate area for use in case of guests and meetings etc, quite how a raised floor area for the bed clearly visible from sitting and dining area can qualify I am again left wondering, it seems that some descriptions here could be treated lightly.

Breakfast on three mornings was always pretty excellent and although we did not dine in the hotel dining room our room service meal was adequate.

One thing not moaned about was the distinct lack of the underfloor heating in the bathroom.

The internet here, whilst complementary, is quite bizarre and in the top floor suite sometimes worked and sometimes didn't, you have to have a separate set of codes for each device you have, so 2 ipads, 2 iphones, and possibly 2 other laptop or netbooks will mean that reception will give you 12 to 16 pieces of paper each with a different username password, you will get them mixed up unless you eat them as soon as they are installed. It is supposed to last 24hrs, but some we had did not mainly due to the flakey reception. magnificently overcomplicated and allied to the Swisscom system used for the TV's which was so annoyingly slow to get a channel to be laughable.

Appart from a niggling overcharge on the bill exfiltration was pretty ok.

All said a very friendly place but with a lack of attention to some important details.

One other point avoid the very top rooms in very high winds unless you have a good source of sleeping pils as the roof and windows make a hell of a racket.

Next time ??

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Although quite critical in part, I am pleased that overall you have enjoyed your stay whilst also suggesting that there is room for Improvement. I will pass on your feedback which is mainly Maintenance related to our Senior Management Team.

In General, the feedback we receive relating to the quality of our bedrooms in particular our larger Suites are extremely positive as you will be able to read yourself in many a Trip Advisor review. It’s therefore a great shame that the accommodation didn’t quite meet your expectations.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

Took my wife here for her birthday. Lovely hotel. It's a old building with large corridors and high ceilings which has been totally refurbished into a luxury 5 * hotel.
From the valet parking to the spa staff everyone was welcoming and very helpful.

We had a basic room but it was massive with large bathroom with large bath and rain shower. We used the spa which has a good sized pool with Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.

We loved the bar area especially the whiskey lounge where I tried a few of their many whiskers on offer.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and our Spa facility.

It’s also great to read that you were able to sample some of our fine Whiskies from our Whisky cabinet. The Whisky Lounge which is located just next to our Cocktail Bar is the ideal place to unwind after a meal in our Groom Room or just after a hard long day.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cedar Court Grand as part of a wedding party on the 30th December 2011. The wedding was not at this location, but elsewhere.

Our first impressions were of delight at the prospect of staying in such attractive surroundings, and indeed we cannot fault the quality of our room. The bathroom was spacious and the bedroom well turned out and extremely comfortable.

The staff at reception were extremely helpful despite it being a very busy time of year and were always very accommodating.

Our main issue with the Cedar Court Grand was the charges we discovered had been applied to my husband's credit card after leaving. Indeed, because the room was pre-paid for well in advance, we thought there was no reason to check the credit card upon leaving.

The hotel held my husband's credit card as part of standard procedure in case of any damages or use of mini bar etc.

We were over charged a great amount, despite the room already being paid for, and upon contacting the hotel to have this rectified were then refunded.

However shortly after another £100 was charged to my husband's credit card and then was again mysteriously refunded.

The hotel were the only people to have used this card as we never use it under ordinary circumstances. This overcharge pushed my husband's card way over his limit and as such we incurred further charges.

We have contacted the Cedar Court Grand to voice our disappointment and have heard nothing in response. This in my view is really poor customer care hence why I am giving it a poor rating.

Although this hotel does have some postives, the stress and anxiety that we suffered due to the monetary charges did not make for a Happy New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your stay with us in late December.

I’m pleased to read that you liked your room and had a great time attending the weeding. It’s disappointing to read that an issue relating to a £100 charge has overshadowed what was otherwise an enjoyable visit to us.

After investigating the circumstances further whereby I spoke to our Front of House Manager & Financial Controller, I would like to give an accurate account of circumstances for the benefit of anyone reading your review.

When a guest checks into our hotel, they are requested to present a Credit or Debit Card, for security reasons whereby we the hotel secure the guaranteed charges and any likely additional charges. This is not a charge and merely holds the amount on the card. This is common practise in many hotels worldwide and is widely referred to as a pre-authorisation or pre-auth for short.

The initial confusion started when you settled your account on departure with a different card than that you gave us for a pre-authorisation on arrival, meaning that holding amount on your initial card was not released. In fairness, our Front Office Assistant should have checked this at the time.
When your husband phoned us to query this and spoke to our Financial Controller, we immediately contacted the Bank to have this reversed.
Noting extra was charged to the account, only that of the original pre-authorisation. Our Financial Controller informed your husband that had he incurred any charges to forward us a copy of this so we could reimburse you. He has not done this.
The following morning, your husband called again to advise us that all moneys were showing as no longer pending so problem solved. Again an apology was extended for the original pre-authorisation taken.

You have stated on Tripadvisor that we overcharged the card and refunded it – this was not the case, there was never any Sale or Refund transactions processed whatsoever on the card, there was simply a Pre-Auth (Hold) and then a Release of the Pre-auth.

I’ll end by saying that following the verbal closure of this incident, it is very disappointing indeed that you have still chosen to write this review despite the incident being resolved.
Should you or your husband have still felt in anyway disappointed, we would have welcomed any further DIRECT contact whereby we could have acted accordingly and possibly even compensated you for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards

Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed one night a bit of a family do and not a buisness trip for a change. The staff where very pleaseant and professional and service what you would expect. No complaints. Rooms very comfortable and the location of the hotel ideal.
Would recommend this venue to all of you reading this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night in December and found it was a great experience. Things started well with the smooth valet parking and the luggage delivered to the room promptly. The rooms all have a lot of character, lots of nooks and crannies and big wooden doors, but they are also completely modern, clean and polished. The bathroom was very nice as well with lots of extra touches. The staff were exceptionally friendly, and we didn't encounter any problems at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.