We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghostly, historic York at its absolute best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Swan Inn
Save
You added Black Swan Inn to your Saves list
23 Peaseholme Green, York YO1 7PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ghostly, historic York at its absolute best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Of all York's many haunted pubs and inns, The Black Swan is the one that wears the feather in the hat.

A coaching inn dating back hundreds of years, much has been done to preserve its authenticity, especially in its main bar - a dark, cosy and distinctly medieval place to enjoy real ale in front of a wonderfully atmospheric fireplace.

We've stayed here several times, and while we've never had a bad trip, since new owners took over, the place has improved further - especially the rooms. While they have maintained the olde worlde atmosphere (which is an essential part of staying here - if you don't want that, please don't book, cos it makes it harder for us), they have refurbished the bathroom and other fittings to spectacular effect.

Breakfast is sumptuous and will keep you going for most of the day - but it isn't the food but the atmosphere and history that you stay here for. The upstairs function room (accessed by a wonderfully uneven, historic staircase) is alleged to have once been the meeting place for covens and occultists, and indeed there remains a crowd of bizarre figures and faces inscribed into the walls - you need to look closely to see them, but they're there in vast numbers.

Is the place actually haunted? I went in there with a healthy dose of scepticism for matters of this nature - for example, "orbs" are just how your camera picks up and represents particles of dust - you can reproduce that anywhere. However, with loud knocks on the bedroom and bathroom doors, with flashes of light in the room, strange scents and sounds, you better believe this place is haunted! It's absolutely fascinating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    40
    8
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

After reading the amazing reviews on trip advisor we thought for sure this would be a great experience for us in the centre of York. Nice looking exterior to inn but dark and gloomy inside. We were welcomed by a nice woman and shown to our room which was again dark and nothing special. We booked dinner which was in a chilly dining area. No table service, orders at the bar. Staff were not particularly friendly although the kitchen staff were the best of the bunch. Menu was basic pub grub and the meals we had both for dinner and breakfast were enormous! Far too much and definitely quantity not quality. £110 bed and breakfast for the two of us which we did not think value for money. Nice location and great blazing fire in the bar. However, Sorry to say we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

the staff very friendly the Turpin room "wow" four poster bed and the open log fire just takes you back ,the whole experience is fantastic and will be returning

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the black swan inn peaseholme green york and i can honestly say we have never stayed at such a friendly authentic inn in our lives. Andy and Steph were great and welcoming and nothing was a problem, always on hand for advice and a chat. After reading other reviews about the food and hospitality we can honestly say we werent disappointed the food was excellent and to be honest we were unable to finish our breakfast (we never ate again till teatime ) and other meals served by stepth and her friendly team. Me and me wife spent a really romantic afternoon and evenings by the log fire sampling the real ale and mulled wine on offer.

My wife and i stayed in the Cottage room and had heard a few tales bout the room being haunted. All im prepared to say is that there was nothing malevolent experienced in this room. Go with an open mind and you may be pleasently surprised.

The room had a large four poster bed with tea and coffee making facilities and a tv with free view. The bathroom was large and very clean and we had freash towels every day. Tilley the manager recommended the ghost tour which started outside the guy fawkes public house and finished inside the black swan inn. Boy were we not disappointed, and we spent a good night being entertained and listening to ghost stories some based on fact and historical evidence. If you are looking for an old fashioned inn with period decour and well kept real ales and a good selection of wine, lager and food with a roaring wood fire to keep you warm, this is the place for you. All i can say is that this must be one of yorkshires best kept secrets and we had a few good nights chatting to the locals and staff.

A big thumbs up and thank you to Steph and Andy as well as their staff for making our holiday a time to remember and please please andy and steph dont change a thing youve got a wonderfull little inn with good staff and meals. We look forward to booking up again soon and have told all our friends. Good luck in the future.

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I decided to book this hotel for my boyfriend’s birthday after a recommendation from my Mum and Aunt who dined there earlier in the year. I booked a two night stay with breakfast on both mornings and we also ate there on both nights. On arrival we were taken to our room by friendly staff that carried our bags for us. We were shown into the Turpin room which was an en suit with a double four poster bed and a separate single. The room was atmospherically lit creating a spooky feeling which went perfectly with the whole theme of the building being haunted as it is the oldest pub in York. After unpacking we went downstairs to explore the pub which was decorated elaborately for Halloween. Even without these decorations every room has old spooky paintings, lanterns and antique objects, not to mention the roaring open fire in the main bar. Every inch of the pub and rooms were spotlessly clean and well looked after. The home cooked food in the restaurant part of the hotel was second to none and even though we are both very fond of our food we struggled to finish anything they put in front of us. They have a very large selection of food available including novelties such as squirrel pie which come piled high on your plate and are extremely good value for money. We decided to do the Black Swan Inns ghost tour typically named “The Horror Tour” which started at the Guy Fawkes Inn, took us all the way around the city and back to the Black Swan. The staff and Landlord at this hotel are very friendly and can’t do enough for you, I would strongly recommend that anyone stay here for a city break with a difference and we will defiantly be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Hi Guys,
I have visited The Black Swan on more than one ocassion and firstly I must say that Andy and Steph are like an extended family! Nothing is too much trouble and if you want to stay up til 5:30 AM in the bar Andy's your man. The food is excellent I struggled to eat a full breakfast and take my advice do not attempt a Mixed Grill its enough to feed three people!

The inn itself is one of the most fascinating locations in York. It is 600 years old full of character clean friendly and full of history. If you would like to experience the Paranormal, their in house team Further On Paranormal will arrange a full evening from 9 PM until the early hours and introduce you to some of the 37 different ghosts that frequent The Black Swan!!!!!

A big plus point is that The Black Swan edges onto York city centre, every major attraction is within walking distance and the inn has it's own spacious car park.

I cannot praise highly enough this inn and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in York.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Myself and my husband both stayed there with a few other team members from further on paranormal after one of our investigation nights there.

The Pub is such a beautiful place with lots of character, the meals are fantastic and great value for money. The Staff are very welcoming and a credit to the owners Andy and Steph.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn

Address: 23 Peaseholme Green, York YO1 7PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Black Swan Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.