We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
12 Goodramgate, York YO1 7LQ, England
01904 623539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a meal here for a celebration - it had been a long time since I last visited and I was pleased with the evening. The starters were excellent (a minor gripe was the very under-ripe tomatoes on the mozzarella and tomato salad - but that seems to be the case everywhere I have eaten this dish aside, expect in Italy!). I had king prawns in mild curry sauce with rice which was lovely and my partner had steak which he declared very well cooked (rare). The wine was also very good indeed. Overall, a lovely meal, albeit a little pricey. Whilst this in part reflects the dishes we chose (there were many cheaper ones on the menu), I would say that £20 for 5 prawns was on the steep side even though they were very tasty! I would certainly go back and I think it is one of those restaurants that cater to local people rather than just trying to impress visitors for one-off visits without worrying about repeat business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    143
    50
    28
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overcooked pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wife and I had a diner at little Italy last November on her birthday. I had misto di pesce. (pasta with seafood) Pasta was over cooked and seafood taste like only wine .I never taste Italian food like this before.Never ever try this place again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A one off restaurant, as opposed to a chain. Good food and good service. The pizzas are especially nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“21 years and doing it so right!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first rule, if there is an Italian Deli that has a restaurant connected to it, IT WILL BE GOOD!. Second rule, when you walk through the door and it smells heavenly, it will be! Little Italy met these 2 rules of ours and it didn't disappoint. Thankfully, we got there when the dinner seating was about to start, so they were able to seat us, but MAKE Reservations. We were also told it was the last night they were open for 2 weeks, they force all the employees to take a vacation once a year, no matter what. Everything we had was delicious, and everything we saw going out looked great. Also, I noticed there were no bus-boys. Everyone worked together helping on each others tables, a real team work ethic. The owners are doing everything right! Its no wonder they have been there for over 21 years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate at Little Italy on Saturday 19th Jan,we were really lucky to get a table as we hadn't thought to book in advance . We had to wait 10 minuets in the downstairs deli while a table came free, this wasn't a problem as we were given menus and served drinks whilst we waited. Our meal was perfect from start to finish, beautifully presented and equally well cooked food. The service was faultless,professional but not at all pretentious. It's a treat to be seved by staff that enjoy what they do and were keen to inform us that everything is home made from the fresh pasta to the delicious tiramisu. All in all a perfect meal and a great find, we will be back next time we're in York and we've already recommend to all our friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.