We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Halloween Horror Here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of York House

Save Saved
You added York House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
York House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Halloween Horror Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in the 4 poster room (our routine treat for weekends away) and the room was spacious and comfy, with everything you needed. The shower room was large and silent from the bedroom. Our hosts were helpful and friendly and the town plan we were given was invaluable. The breakfast room was contempory in design and breakfast timing was very flexible. We were treated to a lovely tasty cooked breakfast including everything you would expect, but simpler breakfasts were available if you were watching your waistline. York House has gone in our little book as somewhere to return to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
125
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

our group of eight ladies stayed here for a weekend of fun and trip to the races , we all found our rooms clean and beds comfortable, the breakfasts were great, freshly cooked to order and the hosts friendly. the pub next door serves great food and probably a bit tooo handy! it is a short walk into town but we mostly got cabs up and down into town which were very reasonable, there is a bus stop right outside too. i would definitely stay there again. one other thing, girls if you are lucky enough to stay in room 4 the shower is fabulous and just hits the spot!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have just returned from a two night break with my partner and can honestly say we both enjoyed our stay at this Hotel and would return again without hesitation. We was given a map of York city and information on the local bus that stopped outside the hotel by Dave on our arrival. Our room was nicely furnished, very clean and all the little extras had been carefully thought of. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Kath and the other staff. The food was lovely too and served in pleasant surroundings, it felt very homely. I chose this hotel for its proximity and easy access into the town, plus the free parking and was not dissappointed, we parked the car and didn't need to use again it until we were returning home. If you are looking for the same I can highly recommend York House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here from start to finish. We were made very welcome, room was very clean, spacious and ideal for our short break. Dave and Kath and all the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was outstanding, would recommend this b & b, although a little way out of town there's a frequent bus service but it's only around a ten minute walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the York House for one night after a train journey. Without a car we wanted a place within walking distance to town or on a bus line, and the York House fit the bill nicely. The other motivation for reserving a room at York House were the pictures of the breakfast area and patio that I saw on the website. Since it was late spring, we wanted to take advantage of the lovely bright weather in a garden setting. Well, the pictures didn't lie. The breakfast room was sunny and airy; a great spot to enjoy our cooked-to-order breakfast. But the aspect of the stay that I have not stopped relating to all is the hospitality of the host. Not only did Dave take the time to tell us about the area, but when it was time for us to go, he drove us to pick up a car at a local rental agency. He literally went that extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Friendly owners who were happy to please us and make the most out of our stay. Breakfast was lovely. Room was clean and location was good for access to York. Bus stop right outside the front door. Parking was tight but owner was happy to park guest's vehicles. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Tipperary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very courteous and friendly welcome. We were shown to the room and given instructions on the windows, shower etc. We were given a tourist brochure of York, with their address and phone number written over the Map. The whole premises were very clean and tidy. It was within walking distance of York center. The breakfast was cooked to order and was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.