We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Gluten Free Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotts Fish and Chips

Scotts Fish and Chips
Bilbrough Top Services | Tadcaster Rd, York YO23 3PP, England
+44 1904 700189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: English, British, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“"Gluten Free Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Whilst staying in York for a 3 day break I checked on the Trip Advisor site for good restaurants and came across Triton's as they had a good rating and sold Gluten Free Fish as well. We visited the restaurant which is easily accessible from the centre of York and found a large car park and a very clean smart establishment. The staff were very good when we were there and the food was very good, the Gluten Free fish and chips was excellant, good size and as Coeliac's will know it is rare to find this kind of food plus they also offered Gluten Free bread as well which was also very good. My wife who is not Coeliac had the homemade lasagne which was very good and I finished off with a homemade Pavlova, which again is hard to find a decent Gluten Free dessert on most menus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    43
    16
    22
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at tritons fish resturant with my daughter, the food was excellent and service was fast!. But i am very disappointed with the way the staff spoke to me and my daughter had no respect as i was speaking to them they started to walk away. A.blonde girl (none british) was very rude to me and my daughter constantly looking down her nose at us made us feel uncomftable and shouting to other staff across resturant.. Stood behind bar talking to other staff when we was waiting 10 minutes to make a order for desert. I have been a few times now with other members of family and they have noticed this girl is very rude to customers i really think something should be done about this because its the only fault and its really letting everyone eles also resturant down. Hopefully see a change if we come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than Whaler by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The fish and chips here are the best in York. A great menu, with fantastic selection. Really good friendly staff, this place is well worth a vist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tritons versus The Wetherby Whaler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Both vg , Tritons feels more spacious,but the whaler more friendly. In the end it is down to how you like your fish and chips cooking. Tritons cook theirs in cooking oil, whilst The Wetherby Whaler cooks them traditionally in lard.
Doubtless the oil will be the healthier option but personally give me fish cooked in lard every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not just fish & chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a great choice to have a meal when travelling home from a day in York. It is about 5 minutes drive along the A64 from the Askham Park'n'ride service going away from York. You do need to drive in a loop off the slip road (signed 'Services') to get to the restaurant, which is also next to a 'M' (you know who) and a petrol station. It is visible from the main road, but you need to come off the dual-carriage way - so best to look for the 'Services' and then 'Tritons'. There is a large parking area directly outside the restaurant to use. When we walked in we were surprised by how well decorated and invited the restaurant was. I think we had preconceived ideas for 'fish & chips' shop/cafes which were totally incorrect on this occasion. The immediate first impression was how clean and tidy the restaurant was. The staff are very friendly and polite, with quick service. The menu choice is considerable, and there's a special's board. This is NOT a fish & chip cafe, and the owners have changed the name to 'fish restaurant' to try and reflect this. Yes there is a wide range of fish you can choose from, but there is also a considerable range of other hot foods as well. The overall portions were generous (possibly a few more chips would have been good, but not to excess), and the size of their 'regular' fish was much larger than we had expected. The four of us (two adults plus two 15 year old's) enjoyed our meals and drinks, and left feeling we had discovered an oasis long the road.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotts Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.