We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hearty food & great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennedys Bar & Restaurant

Kennedys Bar & Restaurant
1 Little Stonegate, York YO1 8AX, England
01904 620 222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 714 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hearty food & great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for great value for money & great food that accepts the taste card in York then this is the place. Portions were very generous, the staff were very friendly & attentive & my girlfriend and I had a lovely meal to end our first day of a mini break in York. Great hearty food with great service at a very reasonable price. Thank you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    122
    43
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Off the track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a bar you will see on the main streets, but well worth a visit,often have live music, wide range of drinks and food

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went early evening for a meal and had burgers, the service was prompt and the food a good standard. The decor is very stylish and the furniture is comfortable. My only gripe is the drinks prices but I'll let that go as its a cool place to hang out. Cheers

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Dont do it"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Out on a christmas trip to York we decided to visit Kennedys for an evening meal. We waited thirty miuntes to be serve then 45 minutes for our food not good.
One meal returned as it was cold, other meals were just okay. We then had to sit and wait for the bill which didnt arrive, so we went to the bar to be told there was a £14 service charge, what service. While York in a wounderful place to visit I will not eat here again. Over priced pub grub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Manager at Kennedys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you thought the service was not up to standard as we tried our very best to accommodate your large table, even asking another table if they minded moving so that all of you could be seated together. Unfortunately when a large group walks in on the busiest weekend of the year, without a booking or a pre-order, then there could well be a delay in the food arriving. The service charge is optional and is added to the bill for parties of 10 or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“restuarant review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My sister and I booked this restaurant off the internet for a golden wedding anniversary whilst on a trip to York and it was totally unsuitable for the occasion. Despite ringing the restaurant on several occasions and telling them this was the case and that there would be children from 8 to 14, we were never told that this place was not suitable. upon arriving it was like eating in a nightclub which totally ruined our present for our parents Golden Wedding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at Kennedys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Kennedy's was not suitable for the occasion. We do make the effort to inform guests of Kennedy's atmosphere at the time of booking and we are sorry if these details were not communicated to you clearly. As Kennedy's is a popular venue for both diners and drinkers, the atmosphere can become lively, particularly on a Friday and Saturday night. We hope that you will be willing to dine with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedys Bar & Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kennedys Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennedys Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.