We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodramgate Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Goodramgate Apartments to your Saves list
Goodramgate Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Monkgate, York YO31 7PD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 4 girls to explore the city of York. The location was perfect, we could walk to everything we needed to within minutes. Although the location was central we heard no noise from the streets during the night and all slept well.

Only issue we had was we were unsure of how to control the heating, it was very warm during the night and quite cold in the day and we could not find any information of how to control it, saying this it was not a major issue- it would have slightly improved our stay however.

Car parking was easy enough just a few minutes away to walk between there and the hotel and was quite cheap (we paid £13 for approx 26-27hours).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    35
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent NYE 2012 in York and chose the wonderful Bennett House to stay at with a group of friends. This will be my third stay and it gets better every time! Exceptionally clean with all the facilities you could need. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We hired this house for a hen party in November 2012 and had a really great time. It is a fantastic house in an excellent location and is set up really well for a Hen Party or for a group of friends all away together. The kitchen diner is a perfect place to spend time in a group, as is the living room.

It is perfectly clean and has everything in it that you need. They even left us some bread, milk and sparkling wine which was an unexpected treat!!

Would thoroughly recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to York on our Christmas night out, there were 11 of us. We were thrilled with the house, the decoration was lovely, and the house lovely and warm and HUGE, with the added bonus of being right near everything, shopping and not too far to walk in the cold for pubs/restaurants. The Christmas Market was smaller than we expected, but we made good use of the Mulled Wine tent. We are definately thinking about staying again in the summer, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with 2 very good friends (girlies)
The Apartment was extremely clean, brilliant central heating system, superb shower and is decorated to a high a standard and it has everything you need. The main gripe we had with the apartment was the noise - noise from upstairs - noise from people using the stairs - but mainly the noise from outside, the main bedroom had 'Sash' wooden windows ... and you could hear everything from outside, I was still awake at 4.00 am with the noise of people coming home from a night out - you may need to take this into consideration if you are wanting a decent nights sleep, but for groups the apartments are ideal. We did have a superb time in york and loved the location of the apartments but found it to be overpriced for our overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just come back from spending an amazing weekend in York which was helped by the close proximity of Ebor Mews... A lovely place to stay, decorated beautifully with everything you could ask for... perfect for the girls weekend getaway with everything shops, restaurants and clubs within walking distance.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in St Maurice's Den - a small apartment, but in a good location. 3 days after our stay I noticed £50 had gone from my bank. I phoned to enquire, and an extremely rude and obnoxious woman told me that the fine was for smoking (I have since found out one of the group had had a cigarette when returning from a night out).
Whilst I appreciate we acted inappropriately, I didn't appreciate the money being taken without warning, and the rude tone of the owner, when I had simply asked for an explanation having had no knowledge of the smoking incident in the first instance.
All in all, extremely disappointing - when you pay £120 for a room, and have no problems paying a £50 fee, a guest should not be spoken to like I was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodramgate, Owner at Goodramgate Apartments, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We always read and act upon but do not as a rule respond to reviews as everyone has their own opinion and experiences, we respect that. We have to take the good and the bad, it is a learning curve and you just can't please everyone.
However on this occasion we feel genuinely aggrieved and Sonia, the lady referred to in the review as 'extremely rude and obnoxious' is understandably very upset at the comments which as many of our previous customers will know are not the what they have come to expect from us.

Trip advisor has declined to remove the review and so on this occasion we feel we have to respond.

In common with almost every accommodation provider we do not allow smoking in any of our apartments and state clearly those who ignore the rules and smoke will be charged.

The gentleman concerned was one of four males who for their own reasons decided to book in spite of our 'no male group' booking rule clearly displayed on all literature, booking agents and our own web site. When they arrived after 7pm, nearly 2 hours after our latest check in time, we took pity on them and foolishly decided to let them stay.
The following morning they left the apartment reeking of cigarette smoke having ignored all clearly marked signs even on the inside of the door in the apartment that smoking would be charged for at £50 to contribute to the costs of deep cleaning.

This was duly charged to their card as a contribution to the day the staff had to spend cleaning to try to remove the smell. In retrospect we should have charged more.
Subsequently we received a telephone call from the gentleman asking why he had been charged without notice and when told became arguementative, arrogant and agressive, during the conversation admitting that in fact they had been smoking and basically tried to blackmail us with a bad trip advisor review, which he has now written. At no time was he spoken to in the manner he describes but no doubt he wished to cause the maximum effect when writing his 'review'.


On a positive note this has reinforced our decision to further enhance our no 'all male group' and 'no smoking in the apartments' policies which will now be rigorously enforced to the benefit of our future customers.


Chris and Sonia
Goodramgate Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodramgate Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodramgate Apartments

Address: 1 Monkgate, York YO31 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodramgate Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced centrally located self-catering apartments,close together, created in grade 2 listed Georgian buildings adjacent to Yorks historic Monk Bar, 300 metres from York Minster, spacious, central, historic and inviting. Sleeping from 2-6, total capacity 34.Also newly launched grade 2 listed Georgian town house in the City Centre by the river. Sleeps up to 14 in 5 bedrooms , 3 bathrooms, fully fitted kitchen, outside area, 10 metres from the river bank, 200 metres from the main shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Goodramgate Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodramgate Apartments Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodramgate Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.