We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely suprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ivy Brasserie - CLOSED

The Ivy Brasserie
The Grange Hotel | 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
+44 (0) 1904 644744
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $45 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Ivy Brasserie is located at The Grange Hotel, an elegant regency town house hotel, just 5 minutes walk from York Minster. The up-to-the-minute décor, plush leather seats and sophisticated artwork is a perfect example of how to marry contemporary design with traditional elegance. The Ivy Brasserie’s unpretentious approach to top quality dining has earned it much admiration amongst Yorkshire’s foodies, as well as two AA rosettes. A traditional British menu is flecked with modern influences, skilfully cooked using the freshest of locally sourced ingredients. Current favourites include scallop tortellini with a tomato and butter sauce, and roast English partridge, bread sauce and game chips. The excellent wine list features up to 25 bottles for under £20.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a lovely suprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

we booked to eat at the brasserie as it was just down the road from our hotel and the weather had taken a turn for the worse so this place seemed convenient! well what a pleasant suprise! the atmosphere was lovely with its dim lighting and up to date music and the food was beautiful and well presented would definitely recommend to others visiting york for a special evening meal

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed experience....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile


The meal started well - home made bread with three different flavoured butters, olives and olive oil and balsamic and a lovely amuse-bouche. The starter was well cooked but very small for the price (three very small scallops for £9), the main was monkfish wrapped in Parma ham in a shellfish bisque. Again it was well prepared and cooked and the flavours were well mixed but it felt very light as there was nothing filling on the plate.

It was at the dessert course that things really went downhill. The desserts didn't look particularly good, so we skipped that course and plumped for the cheese instead. All of the cheeses were very nice but served with what tasted like mini, stale, pitta breads instead of crackers. Perhaps that was just personal preference but they weren't very nice. The portion was, once again, very small so my partner decided to order something from the brasserie menu. He ordered Parkin, but it took 15 minutes to arrive. If the restaurant was very busy we could have understood it but there was one other couple in there and they were eating their mains at this point. We ended up sending back the Parkin and moving on.

The service was mixed. The first gentleman who served us was very good, and clearly understood the menu very well and which wines would go with what. The waitress needed training as she wasn't able to answer anything without having to ask first, though she did promptly go and find out each time we asked . The final waiter that spoke to us knew what he was talking about but was chewing gum, which is big no no in a restaurant as far as I am concerned.

Overall we left a bit abruptly feeling disappointed. The menu looked so good but we just left feeling overwhelmingly disappointed. For the price of the food we both expected so much better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Started well but went downhill very quickly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and ate in the ivy restaurant on our second evening.

We started out with a lovely amuse bouche and great home made bread. The starters we ordered came quickly and were incredibly tasty but hugely overpriced for the quantity. (Three very small scallops were around £9).

Main course was very nice but nothing exceptional except again the portion size was on the mean side and there were no carbohydrates to help bulk out the dish which made it feel incredibly light - to the point of very large starter level.

The final disappointment was the dessert menu. Nothing was even remotely seasonal (a theme through out looking back) and read as very very average at best. We decided to jump straight to cheese which sounded okay when the waitress had asked what was included. We decided to order this along with port which is a pretty well established combo. The port selection consisted of the cheapest port known to man and no more than 20g of each of 4 cheeses which felt incredibly stingy.

Service was reasonable and the staff tried hard but need some serious training as they lacked even basic knowledge. Although the waiter who was very obviously chewing gum while serving us might need a little more attention.

Overall the quality of the food was pretty good but the quantity was truly appalling. I would strongly recommend going elsewhere in fact almost anywhere else to eat in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Silence of the Lamb”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Review relates to Restaurant not the Brasserie. Went with great expectation, left with great disappointment.Starter was bit of a let down, but what really killed off the evening was the failure to be able to cook, as requested by my partner, what were just lamb chops. Well done was ordered, very rare came back, so well done was ordered again, rare came back again, on the third go when it came back wrong again we gave up and ordered fish!!. If two of you go out for a meal, two of you hope to eat at the same time, not one after the other. The chap in charge did attempt to recover the situation by not charging for the fish, but really!!, not charging for food you didn't really want is barely a good attempt. My advice ? try somewhere else, York has lots of places that can cook meat as you want it........and at the first attempt

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“To clarify - this review is about The Brasserie and NOT The Ivy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I chose The Brasserie over The Ivy because The Ivy's menu was higher priced and a bit more limited.

Overall our meal was lovely - the food fantastic and quite reasonably priced, although I expected a slightly bigger piece of the fish of the day for £16.95.

But that's really my only gripe! The service was good and the atmosphere was wonderful - a renovated cellar under the hotel which was not overly brightly lit and gave for a nice cosy feel!

Would recommend and would definitely try again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy Brasserie also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ivy Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.