We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
20 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
01904622020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 735 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It must be said that my wife and I have been here so many times we have lost count.It is our favourite Italian in the city and one which we choose due to its excellent fresh food and warm welcome.We know when we eat here that we are going to have a good meal,steaks are excellent, pasta is fresh and wine very reasonable,what more do you need ! Family run with the help of some first class staff, a true taste of Italy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    63
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were visiting York from Scotland this weekend and happened across Mamma Mia. Liked it so much we went twice! Mussels starter was to die for both times, and I had two different pastas which were both delicious. Fresh ingredients you could really taste, plenty of fresh tomatoes, herbs and garlic, asparagus and pasta cooked to al dente perfection, The warm welcome from Mamma herself was a delight but then it was light-touch, hands off service which allowed us to relax and enjoy our meal. Great value too. Really enjoyed it and will go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

visited to celebrate a friend's birthday. Found the majority of the staff very rude, a bit of a tension between them which put a damper on the night really. I had a mushroom pizza and the mushrooms, seemed like the dried variety - not fresh!! Friends meals seemed ok

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at the restuarant at 10pm without booking.We were a party of eight.We received a warm welcome and were qiuckly shown to the tables.Everybody ordered something different.Our meals were served perfectly and quickly.Everbody enjoyed their food,Our guests had travelled from Edinburgh and Newcastle, they loved the service and the ambience.
We all had a throughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went here for pre pantomime meal. The food was excellent as was the service..
Great atmosphere, truly Itanlian!
Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.