We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
47 Fossgate, York YO1 9TF, England
01904 654155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited November 3rd having pre booked for a table of six having. We were looking for somewhere different from the regular restaurants we have used, and what a find. Service top class, the food was absolutely divine with a range to suit all tastes and reasonably priced. All the meals arrived together, hot and as described. I had lamb that was tender and cooked to perfection (in my view). All of us felt this was one of the nicest meals we have eaten when dining out in a long time. Popadoms with pickles, starters and main courses and several drinks, all excellent for under £25 per person. Certainly in York it is one of the best, I can't comment on other cities, but I can assure readers my thoughts and opinions would never be viewed as hype.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    187
    76
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading reviews about the Mumbai Lounge on Trip Advisor we were determined to visit on our most recent visit back to York. A party of four we were all left a little non-plus'ed by the apparent praise, it's good but it's certainly not as good as it is reported.

The starters were disappointing, cold, bland & on the small size. The main courses were a great improvement, interesting, hot, well presented & plentiful. The menu was certainly extensive, offering a very wide choice. Service was good, the restaurant was busy, staff turned tables swiftly and consequently we felt a little rushed.

Sadly the Mumbai Lounge only serves bottle beers, which is fairly inexcusable for a restaurant of this size.

Fairly priced, £15-25 per person

We would probably return, but would suggest that others aren't overwhelmed by potential TA hype and review it accurately

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumbaiLounge, Owner at Mumbai Lounge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are sorry for your experience. We agree that your starters could have been lukewarm when served to you, but feel that they are generous in size, and most of our customers seem to agree with us. However, if we receive more comments like yours we will certainly look at what we do and address concerns.

We don’t rush our guests. Once you are seated we will give you up to two hours on our busy nights. On other nights of the week we don’t limit anyone.

Regarding beers, we started initially with bottled beers and our customers are quite happy with this, although as we grow as a business, we will certainly investigate the possibility of draught beers in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the finest Indian Restaurants in Britain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had been recommended by numerous friends to visit Mumbai Lounge in York. It's located right at the heart of THE restaurant street, Fossgate, in the city and the building spreads over three floors with an amazing spiral staircase taking you up to the bar and down to an intimate cellar dining room. We however were on the ground floor and could see the chefs in action in the open plan kitchen. Rakib who is the owner/manager looked after our party of ten people with personal attention in a way that makes the Savoy Grill look like McDonalds. Most British people have an experience if not an affection of Indian food, but I cannot describe the quality of the cooking at Mumbai Lounge. My nephew said it was the best meal he had tasted in his life. He wasn't wrong. The whole thing was just excellent and there are not many places you can say that about. Rakib and his team were friendly, professional and he made the time to talk even though they were very busy. The restaurant itself is beautiful and in the best part of town. The food has to be tried to be described and I don't have the vocabulary! Perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner and I found this place on our recent trip to York. We walked in to be welcomed by a very friendly waiter who quickly took us to a table downstairs. We didn't book but I would recommend booking a table as it was very busy. Our coats weren't taken off us when we sat down, only a minor point but still a point worth making. They were wet and we just put them on the back of the chairs but maybe they could of hung them up for us despite being downstairs where the passing public couldn't see us unlike those on the ground floor.
We were offered poppadoms and unlike some Indian restaurants they didn't charge us for how many they presumed we wanted, they asked so we just paid for what we wanted.
After waiting around 20 - 30 minutes ( good food not fast food) our lamb Zalfrey and lamb Karahi dishes with rice and naan bread arrived. The lamb fell apart it was so tender and still slightly pink, the rice dishes well spiced and seasoned. Beautiful food, quite possibly the best curries we have ever tasted! The Zalfrey was quite a hot curry whilst the Karahi was medium I would say and both a nice change from of the more traditional dishes.
The bill came to around £37 including a large white wine and a 660ml beer. The service was very good and in a very pleasant atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this place, a true jewel in the heart of a fantastic city!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM! YUM! YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Without a doubt, this is the best Indian food I've ever eaten and the only bad thing about it is that it's in the UK and I live in Canada.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumbai Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.