We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hedley House, York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knowle House Holiday Apartments

Knowle House Holiday Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knowle House Holiday Apartments
Save
You added Knowle House Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Bootham Terrace, York YO3 7DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hedley House, York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

An excellent hotel. Very friendly reception on arrival. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food also excellent though, if you are staying for more than a few days, a slightly wider range of choice would be helpful. Great situation for pedestrian access to everything in York.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Knowle House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We take guest reviews very seriously and are currently revamping our menu and we will be including more choices! Come back again soon so you can try our new menu!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We weren't sure what to expect when we booked. The price seemed very reasonable for £75 per night booked online with the owners. When we arrived we discovered a lot more than we expected.
Firstly it is well situated, a five to ten minute walk from the Minster. There is parking, though some of it is a little awkward. We had the basement room at the back - n. 27 I think. There was a very large bedroom with three singles. It was a little awkward to get to the closet but that didn't really matter. An excellent modern flat screen TV with all the freeview channels and a comfortable sofa. The kitchen was well equippped and reasonably well supplied with coffee and tea and cleaning stuff. The bathroom was fine and pleasant.
I particularly liked the privacy and not having to get up for a breakfast that I don't really want at a time I'd rather be sleeping that comes with most b&bs in the UK. Overall a very good stay

Room Tip: We stayed in 27 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Knowle House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Great to hear you had a successful stay with us. Come back and visit again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Service was first class and the accommodation was spot on, wonderful shower, quiet location within easy walking distance of all the attractions of York City.
We didn't have to use public transport or the car for the whole 3 days stay, excellent parking and access to the hotel.
We would go again if we wanted to see York once more.
I wasn't too happy about paying £3.50 for a can of John Smiths though I would not hesitate to recommend the Hedley House Hotel to any of my friends. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the value for money in this hotel. The newly refurbished rooms have all you need need with a clean, roomy en-suite, neat little kitchenette, comfortable bed and decent size tele. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The location was ideal, being 5 minutes from the Minster and yet far enough away from noisy revellers. Not luxurious but very, very comfortable. Leaves you with more money to spend in town!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Knowle House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for the review. We are very happy with the new rooms and look forward to seeing you again soon

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Dont believe what you see on website - you will be dissapointed, basic items like hot water and central heating not available on arrival - rectified however in time for next morning ! have stayed in better B&B's at half the price.
Will visit York again but will not be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Knowle House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you for your review
The boiler on your floor had gone off but was fired back up when you mentioned it. Manuel is good with boilers.

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Good place to stay with car parking for visiting the centre of York. Staff really helpful, even if you arrive 3 hours early as we did. Parked us up, gave us a map and directions and told us that room would be ready by 1pm.

Breakfast (extra as we did not stay in the adjoining hotel) was excellent. Good sausages.

Only down sides were that the bed room, we had St Olaves, was small, just enough room to squeeze past to get into bed on the other side. The bed was also hard, and we fought over the cover one night.

The other niggle was that the shower pump was loud.

But saying all this, both my husband and I would consider staying there should we return to York.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in the apartments for 2 nights and I thought the room was very run down and expensive for the quality. We booked after viewing the apartments on the Hedley House website and they looked very modern but we were not allocated any of the rooms shown on the website which looked a higher quality than the one we stayed in. Everything we needed was there but I expected a higher quality for my money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knowle House Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowle House Holiday Apartments

Address: 5 Bootham Terrace, York YO3 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Knowle House Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2011 and reaching ETC 4 star award. City center apartments ranging from studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments. On site restaurant, outdoor jacuzzi and sauna. Gym coming in July 2011. A perfect place from which to work or explore York and the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knowle House Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.