We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars

Oscars
27, Swinegate, York YO1 8AZ, England
01904 652002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: English, Hamburgers, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been to Oscars many times and always loved the experience. The food is well presented, plentiful and tasty with an imaginative menu. It is busy and attracts all ages because of the relaxed atmosphere. Look out for the money saving voucher in the local paper, The Press, for discount on some meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    164
    48
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The standard in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visit Oscars every week or two and it never lets us down - great food, brilliant atmosphere and friendly staff as always. Very good value for money too!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service and fab value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Myself, husband and daughter ate here recently and we all enjoyed our meals. The service was great, nice and friendly staff and the food was delicious. We are all vegetarians and there was a wide vegetarian selection of meals to choose from. I also had a couple of cocktails which were also delicious. Can't really fault this place and we will return next time we visit beautiful York.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Assiette Parisienne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

OK it was the Parisian Platter....but is reminded me of France!! Excellent salami pate, brie, eggs, olives, dipping oil, salad and bread. A generous meal, for a tired tourist on her birthday alone in York!! The service was with a smile and friendly. The decor is a nice bistro style. I would certainly recommend Oscars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived at around 8pm and got seated straight away. Food ordered and arrived fairly quickly. The Nachos and spicy beanburger were lovely. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscars also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.