We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars

Oscars
27, Swinegate, York YO1 8AZ, England
+44 1904 652002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 657 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hamburgers, English, Family Fare, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Whilst dining at the Biltmore we took a look inside Oscars and decided to pay it a visit on our next trip to York. Great decision! Fantastic selection of food obviously caters for meateaters but my wife wont eat meat so we checked the menu. WOW! Possibly THE best vegetarian options available in York. The service was brilliant and the food a joy. Our new favourite in York!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    190
    51
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We loved the decor as well as the food in this restaurant. Was only going to have a drink and then move onto somewhere else to eat, but decided to stay and were pleased we did as it was really nice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, but skip the starter if you want to eat your main course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I ate here early Saturday evening (6.30pm) with my husband and was pleasantly surprised. It's one of those trendy bar/ restaurants aimed at couples and big parties, rather than a formal dining experience, all dark corners and quirky bottles of water. If we hadn't gone in the side door, rather than the main entrance, I probably wouldn't have ever ventured inside!

Although it was fairly busy, we got one of the last two remaining tables and our waitress was pleasant and attentive. The atmosphere was good, with background music and general chat, but not so loud that we couldn't have a normal conversation.

We ordered garlic bread with cheese to start and with hindsight, should have ordered one between us! It was essentially a French stick cut lengthways and smothered in garlic and cheese .... each!! Very garlicky, very cheesy and very good, but way too much, especially with a main course on its way! I only ate half of mine and was feeling pretty full already.

I had opted for lasagne for the main course and hubby had Cajun chicken. Both were very good and appeared freshly cooked, but after that huge starter, I really struggled to eat much of mine. Hubby did his best with his, but even he couldn't finish. I have to wonder how much food they waste here on a daily basis!

Wine was reasonable, but not cheap, though probably par for the course; we went for a bottle of Rioja Tempranillo at £17, which was actually quite good.

It was very, very busy when we left and the poor staff were rushed off their feet. I would probably eat here again, but no later than 6.30pm or 7pm to avoid the crush, or maybe midweek, rather than on a Saturday night.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We arrived about 2pm for lunch and there was only one person serving. The tables were not cleared.
We had to wait ages to place our order, once placed it arrived quickly and was very nice.
I would go again because the food was good for lunch time and gig e the service another chance.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Faboulous for a family meal out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our party consisted of two families, four adults and four older children. We were pleased with the menu as it had such a wide range of choice. We all enjoyed our huge meals and the kids even managed puddings - hey but that's teenagers for you!

I would advise you to check your bill before paying as we found that we had an item on there that we had not ordered or received, the waitress soon took it off for us with an apology.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscars also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.