We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Food. Poor Service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca, York

La Tasca, York
21 Back Swinegate, York YO1 8AD, England
+44 (0)1904 521100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 735 Restaurants in York
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Fair Food. Poor Service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have been to other branches of La Tasca a few times before and really enjoyed it. However this time whilst our meal was adequate, it was not really enjoyed. Service was painfully slow in spite of the place not being very busy, and drinks that were asked for were forgotten. The food served for the main courses was OK but the desserts were very disappointing. Had to wait some time to pay - also noticed a nearby table who were planning to pay by card got fed up of waiting so scraped together the cash between them and dumped it on the table and left!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    161
    64
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First visit! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We visited york this weekend and went to la tasca on monday (27th). We didn't book but got a table straight away. Ordered drinks which were a while in coming and got order wrong, there were only 2 staff on the floor and a party in at the time which could slow things down a bit. Staff were lovely, waited quite a while for our main (paella) around 50 mins! But there was a mix up. Again I put this down to under staffing. Food was not to be faulted and very enjoyable. Good atmosphere and even better with 40% discount!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a lovely meal at La Tasca in York this week and everything was perfect. The service, the food, drinks and atmosphere were perfect. We really like eating here for a treat and would recommend it to anyone if they are in York and fancy a change.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Not planned to have a meal out after having an amazing full english breakfast cooked by my husband. Went into York to shop Saturday afternoon and decided to have a late light lunch so perfect place for grazing is La Tasca. Very pleasant and friendly staff, great choice of food something for everyone. Used my Loyalty card so good discount too so mostly all good. Finished with a coffee but both me and my husband did not like the flavour of the beans. We are quite discerning coffee drinkers so don't think we will finish with a coffee next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“As good as it always is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our visit to La Tasca York never fails to please and as loyalty card holders it offers great value for money in a great atmosphere with very friendly staff. We miss Dan the manager but nothing else has changed and we were welcomed warmly and the food was delicious - always piping hot and served with the friendly smile that all York staff have.
There is always a buzz at the York restaurant (unlike some we have visited) but nothing is too much trouble for the staff, no matter how busy it is and the menu has a wide variety of food - its often hard to choose our dishes. We rate York as the best we have visited and we have visited many La Tascas. Roll on the summer when we can eat outside on the terrace!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca, York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to La Tasca, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca, York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.