We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bettys Cafe and Tea Rooms

Bettys Cafe and Tea Rooms
Hookstone Chase | Harrogate, York HG2 7LD, England
01904 622865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 61 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Delicatessen, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
USA
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an afternoon cream tea here. The long wait in the lines was worth it. We were able to sit by the window and look out and see York pass by. There was no rushing us to get moving. We had delicious scones and coffee and tea. People were dressed very nicely and were making this a celebration. The staff was very accomodating and it did not take anytime to get service and our food. It really is a place one must go to while in York

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    132
    53
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An absolute must if in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had been told to visit Betty's when I told my sister-in-law we were visiting York. We managed to squeeze it in our rather busy agenda and were we glad we did! We went to 'little' Betty's in Stonegate and had to queue for about thirty minutes but it was well worth the wait. We were only going to have tea and cake but when we saw the menu we opted for a meal with cake as the dessert. Absolutely delicious and the tea comes as 'proper' tea, no teabags, with your tea-strainer! The staff were very helpful and friendly, without being over the top, they had it just right.
Will probably be visiting York later in the year and will definitely return to Betty's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My little bit of England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first trip to England and afternoon tea at a tearoom was high on my wish list, Betty's was recommended by our innkeeper but he advised us to go to "little" Bettys, not "big" Bettys which was more modern and commercial. "Little" Bettys was a small shop with the tearoom upstairs. It really had the feel of an old tearoom, which was exactly what my soul needed. The room was soothing and uncluttered, and an elegant tea service was brought to me. I felt totally comfortable wearing my jeans and warm jacket as the weather was blustery outside. Service was a little slow but there was only two servers. Everything I ate was delicious, as was the Bettys Tearoom Blend (which I bought downstairs), and hubby loved the chocolate torte and hot chocolate (which we also bought some downstairs). Yes, yes, yes, find this tearoom if you go to York. It may be a bit of work because of all the twists and turns of the streets, but you will be greatly rewarded, and without the crowds the larger "big" Bettys has in the square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Even though everything was very nice and beautifully set on the table the tip was a bit overpriced. If you want to skip the queue arrive a few minutes before they open.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice tea and sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Waited just under half hour for a table. It was just about worth it! The sandwich I chose was nice and the pot of tea perfect! It is expensive if I'm been honest for what it actually is but the service and atmosphere more a less make up for it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bettys Cafe and Tea Rooms also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bettys Cafe and Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.