We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable service and quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge York Lower Petergate

Cafe Rouge York Lower Petergate
52 Low Petergate | The Adams House, York YO1 7HZ, England
01904 673293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 657 Restaurants in York
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Variable service and quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been here a couple of times over the last few months. They can just about manage an early simple breakfast like coffee and scrambled eggs. Even then the coffee was cold by the time the food arrived. As I was in early when the place was near empty, I doubt the staff would cope if it becomes more crowded. I survived the experience, but the whole place including the lavatories needs a really good thorough and deep clean. The food standards agency gave it 4 out of 5, but that was in October 2012.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    102
    64
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked a window table at Cafe Rouge and were really pleased that the restaurant was busy... sadly the team struggled to cope and the service was poor. The wine was good but the food disappointing. We waited a long time to be served our main course and when it came it wasn't what was on the menu. No-one had bothered to tell us and beans and chips had been substituted for snow peas and dauphinoise potatoes!
We haven't been to Cafe Rouge for a long time but overall this was a disappointing experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dreadful - avoid avoid avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

popped in for a quick coffee.

To summarise -

- Disinterested and sullen staff
- Disgusting toilets
- Terrible coffee - staff unable to make even a cappuccino which I sent back and came back exactly as before.

Overall utter rubbish. I will NEVER return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We didn't even get a table as we waited too long before getting served. Tables were empty but we still had to queue so unfortunately we left. Building is lovely though with nice views of Low Petergate, just around the corner from York Minster.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a lovely meal tonight everything was nice I had the set meal with soup and the haddock fish cakes very tasty, husband had French onion soup and the duck , could not fault at all the waitor was really pleasant will certainly visit again next time we are in York

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge York Lower Petergate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge York Lower Petergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge York Lower Petergate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.