We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moutreys

Moutreys
9 Grape Lane, Whitby, England
01947 602751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 149 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Leighton Buzzard ngdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We visited this restaurant for an early dinner on our first evening in Whitby. Although we hadn't booked we were quickly seated by a very friendly waitress. Our drinks order was taken and we were left to peruse the menu. We both ordered lasagna and were told it would take around 25mins as it was cooked to order. Well worth the wait (which passed quickly as we were watching the chefs working and the restaurant filling up)
Would definitely recommend if you enjoy good Italian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    92
    29
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wish this was my local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Phoned from Scotland and booked this for our special Golden Wedding Anniversary meal with family, eleven of us all together. Couldn't have been better. Suited all ages from 7 to 75. Varied menu. Hubby said it was best steak he had for a long while. I had chicken and it was great too. The children of course had pizzas which were amazing. Try the garlic bread, it was super. We all had that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great couples dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very tasty authentic food. The red onion and goats cheese garlic bread to start, seafood pasta for the missus and meatballs for me. All exceptional. on my return to whitby i will 100% return to be fed more delicious food from Gary and his team.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely small restaurant with great staff. The food was delicious, it was a relaxed atmosphere and whilst the service wasn't the fastest it was all cooked to order and was outstanding well worth the wait. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff, from the minute we walked in to the minute we rolled out( a Yorkshire family trying to stuff every gorgeous mouthful of food into our mouths, and we did have to have a take away pizza box) everything thing was spot on. THE BEST MEAL WE HAD IN WHITBY THIS BANK HOLIDAY.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moutreys also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Moutreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moutreys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.