We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salmon Leap Hotel

The Salmon Leap Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Salmon Leap Hotel
Coach Road | Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Whitby
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Have just had four nights stay which we found very relaxing, landlord was very pleasant and helpful, as were staff very friendly, room spotless and very comfortable bed everything we needed was available. Good breakfast to set you up for the day, location
perfect for sightseeing, also train station and bus stop on door step.
Would definately stay there again.

John & Maureen Isle of Man

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and could not fault it in any way,landlord and staff were very pleasant,comfy bed,plenty of hot water,clean towels everyday,tea trays filled when required and a tasty breakfast .Made an excellent base for seeing the sights.Good quiz night on Wednesdays.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We booked this place through Lastminute.com and on arrival thought it would be ok; we only wanted a base. We noted that the hospitality tray was a bit sparse, enough for two cups of tea, without sugar, coffee or biscuits and only two milks. However, we unpacked, had a drink and headed off for the day.
When we returned in the early evening, we were quite cold and my husband tried to cheer me up by saying he would run me a hot bath and I could then watch Coronation Street. We hadn't realised there was no t.v. in the room, which is odd for a three star but we had noticed there was a lounge so I headed off to that whilst my husband ran a bath.
The lounge consisted two plastic settees with a large wooden box which turned out to be the t.v. It looked as if it belonged in a museum and there was no chance of watching Corrie; it only had three channels and they kept freezing (much like me). Ten minutes later my husband returned and remarked how grim it all was and said the room was positively freezing but my bath wouldn't be long. Ten minutes after that, he returned to say we were packing up and going. The room was cold but the bath was freezing as there was no hot water.
We packed up and told the proprietor on the way out that we were very disappointed. He said he could put the heating on if we wished and would try to fix the water but enough was enough. It did us a favour anyway because on the way home we found the Falcon Inn, which was sheer luxury compared to the Salmon Leap.
When I complained to Laterooms, they said the three stars could have been 'bought off the internet' and I think they've probably hit the nail on the head.
One last point on the complementary toiletries - there were none, other than half a bottle of shower gel that the previous occupant must have left.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

This was the first time we have stayed at the hotel. First impressions are very welcoming and very clean place We were shown to our room no 10 on the top floor it is Quite a large room with a double and a single bed with onsuite, the beds and linen were very clean and comfy .The shower was the best and most powerfull i have ever had ,we had a very good nights sleep and in the morning went down to a superb breakfast. In all for the money it is super value and the most welcoming landlord, If you want all fancy and state of the art fineary please keep away and leave the rooms for people who want good honest food and a warm very clean room . Very Well done Adrian Thank you Caroline mark & joe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Salmon Leap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salmon Leap Hotel

Address: Coach Road | Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salmon Leap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Salmon Leap Hotel to your Saves list