We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Langley
Save
You added The Langley to your Saves list
16 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay at The Langley; Bob and Pam welcome you like old friends and it really feels like a home from home. The rooms are fabulous, the breakfast to die for and the attention to detail second to none. Look forward to staying again soon

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous _ we've stayed in nearly all of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
thanks for your review we are always pleased to see you both, sorry for delay in responding to your review & everyone else's for that matter. As all of you that know me if I was to be marked out off 100 for social media I'd struggle to get a 3. See you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, here we are again, May 8th 9th 10th, July 10th 11th 12th. Nice to see Bob & Pam again, both stays top notch, always perfect for us two, we are treated like family only without the bickering. I have said it all before in previous reviews, this is our favourite hotel in the UK. I would just come to Whitby for one of Pam's full English breakfasts, the dining room just floods with light, we just love the place so much, fantastic atmosphere in the hotel, love to sit in the lounge and have a chat with Bob & Pam, read a magazine or the Whitby Gazette.I wish I could sleep as well at home, the bedrooms are more than comfortable, you can relax watching the TV, have a nice yorkshire cuppa with a biscuit, with great view from the windows. The staff are friendly and helpful, will be back for Goth weekend in late October, can't wait..........

Room Tip: We have stayed at the front and side of the Hotel, both have good views, we have afavourite room, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Manager at The Langley, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Yet again Lovely review, Lovely people, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here in the past and have always enjoy the experience. Bob makes guests feel very welcome. All of the rooms that we have stayed in have been spacious and very well appointed with huge comfortable beds, immaculate, modern en suite shower rooms and a large seating area. Even the king size side rooms have super views over the sea to Kettleness. Bob and Pam try to think of everything - small fridge containing chocolates and plenty of milk (rather than a couple of tiny tubs of UHT milk on the tea & coffee tray; a bottle opener for your own wine with good quality glasses to drink from.
Breakfast is eaten in the new dining room overlooking Royal Crescent gardens and the sea. There are choices to suit everyone and portions large enough for the biggest appetite. Super fruit salad everyday.
I cannot recommend the Langley enough.

Room Tip: It is quite a trek up to the 3rd floor as there is no lift, so avoid these rooms if you are as out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you once again for choosing the Langley & for taking time to give us a review, it's always lovely to see you both so again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As usual the Langley Hotel is still as fantastic as the first time stayed there. We have stayed at the Langley three times. Bob and Pam always make you feel welcome. Our room was so spacious, spotless, good comfy beds. Our breakfasts were fantastic as always. Try the Langley, all the rooms have sea views. Free parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
thanks to you all I'm still working my way back through all the reviews, I should reply quicker but I see the reviews as a guide for others that may be considering staying with us and my primary job is to make sure they enjoy their stay with us. Will try to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful big room with panoramic views out to sea over beautiful gardens. Peaceful, comfortable with a warm and helpful welcome from Bob and lovely breakfast service. Good reception on tv. Wireless at top of hotel a bit sporadic but there is always option to go downstairs

Room Tip: Room 6 is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my wife and 2 year old son. On arrival we were greeted by name by Bob, very nice welcome. The best bit was the next morning at breakfast where they had set a place for our little boy with winnie the pooh place mat and plastic cup! A lovely touch. Breakfast was fantastic, everything you need to set you up for the day. Definitely recommend and would consider staying again if we went back to Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything about the Langley truly is 5-star. We were made welcome immediately we arrived, including Bob carrying our case upstairs for us, and back out to the car when we left. Breakfasts are always to a high standard, and the choice is enormous. Bob & Pam take care of absolutely everything, and the attention to detail is particularly noticeable. We were made welcome all of the time (we stayed for 7 nights), and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. As the whole stay was so enjoyable, we immediately booked again for another 8 nights next year. Thoroughly recommended. Paul & Marion, Norfolk.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 with its 6' Super-King sized bed. Even though it's at the side of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langley

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langley Visit Britain “5 Star” Sea Front Accommodation, very high standards of comfort and cleanliness with excellent breakfasts, coupled with a warm, friendly family atmosphere. Services include full central heating, and all our rooms have spacious ensuite facilities with large walk in shower, complimentary toiletries, generous courtesy Tray, Wide screen TV, DVD Player, Wifi Internet, Radio Alarm, Hairdryer, Ironing facilities, safe & Fridge for guests own use, free wi-fi etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Langley Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.