We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodside Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Villa
Save
You added Woodside Villa to your Saves list
16 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The second time I have stayed here recently, the hotel is beautiful and the welcome as warm as the weather which was great for the whole of my stay.
The breakfast was great and served hot which isn't always the case in other places, with an attentive host on hand to see if we wanted more and her delightful son keeping diners entertained with his chatting.
I could go on and on but don't take my word for it give it a try...oh yes Whitby was great as usual

Room Tip: I didn't want to get out of bed.... very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby Lincs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast for 2 nights, the hosts were very welcoming the breakfast was excellent, we stayed in a room with a huge bed only downside was that this was not an ensuite room so had to share bathroom facilities however this was not a major problem. Whitby centre was only a short walk away we enjoyed a lovely meal at Harrys Bar in the harbour which was nice and on the second night we ate at the Vineyard were we enjoyed a lovely meal. All in all a very relaxing stay. We would recommend woodside villa and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: perhaps choose an ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking to find a place at short notice, Whitby was pretty much fully booked but Woodside had the bridal suite available so I took a chance and booked it. Wow! what a room. I do minimalist decor at home but this was total opposite, its like a palace. Amazing! The bed was gorgeous and very comfortable. The bathroom was bigger than some B&B rooms I have stopped in. The shower is a room within a room and the hand crafted border was a very nice touch. Its about a 5-10 min walk into Whitby center. If you have not already guessed, we fell in love with the room and we will be back without a shadow of a daught. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Any even facing the road is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rococo room for 3 nights at the end of June, the room was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. This is a Family run business, the daughter made us feel very welcome and always asked us about our day. loved the eclectic mix of styles and furnishings throughout the hotel. The brekfast is cereal and/or full english, this was nice but would have been better to have a bit more variety although the home made jams are very tasty! . The only thing we did not like was the lack of parking, I imagine at busier times it would be very difficult to find anywhere close by and there are many other b&bs in the same area with plenty of parking at a similar price. Also a warning if you are thinking of booking this hotel you need to be child friendly as it is family home and our room was across from a young child's room, occasionally we did hear crying in the night but nothing too unbareable. Over all a nice stay but could be better with a few extra touches.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A lovely big house that is decorated with an eclectic mix of furnishings which we both loved and a change from the pine furniture and floral paper scheme. We had a room upgrade to the Rococo due to the owners circumstances which was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. Thanks for that. The walk into Whitby is 5-10 minutes maximum and for those who don't want to do the hill go down by the side of the house which is easier but the same distance. This B&B has a nice relaxed atmosphere due to the owner and her family. We stay in Whitby 1-2 every year and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not quite sure about this place. We did have a lovely big room and bathroom. The bed was very comfy, but if you like lots of ornaments and chinz then this is for you, there are some nice pieces of furniture but also lots that do not fit in with the theme.
Breakfast was ok, but not given a menu or choice and it must have been presumed that you would order a full english as it came out very quickly so was probally predone. You had to be down for 9 O`clock and all sat at one table, which was ok.
Parking terrible, only room in the back yard for 1 car plus the owners, another couple had to park down the road and were not happy. There are better guest houses just down the road with good parking and for good rates. The walk into town is a good 10-15 mins and the walk back is very steep. This was a different weekend away but did like whitby.

Room Tip: Edwardian room very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stop in a lovely room with a big bed,stopped for three nights on our honeymoon,very clean,good breakfast,could not do enough,to make our stay comforable,stop there,very good?would stop again,and tell friends and family,very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodside Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Villa

Address: 16 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guest accommodation. Quirky comfortable rooms with tv, DVD, cd player, hair dryers and dressing gowns provided for every room. Complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, everything you would expect and more. A full English breakfast with plenty of other options available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodside Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.