We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, lovely place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanders Yard

Save Saved
You added Sanders Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanders Yard
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 143 Whitby B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Great weekend, lovely place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had such a lovely time here. Dove Cottage was great, very good for families and lots of thought had gone into the toys they'd provided. The breakfast was delicious. Great staff and lovely cakes. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    17
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Sanders Yard. We booked the family room which was big enough for us with our 2 teenage daughters. As the room is in the attic, the room is sloped on either side with various beams, but this adds to the fun! Having read previous reviews, we were a little apprehensive about there being no shower available for us. However, this really did not matter. In fact, it was wonderful. The bathroom was large, and it was lovely to soak in the bath, taking time out from a busy day on the beach. There was an abundance of hot water for us all. The staff were extremely accommodating and welcoming and we were shown to our room much earlier than we had anticipated, we had arrived early and had literally just nipped in to ask which was the best car park to use! Breakfast is 9-10am, which allowed us to go for a walk each morning before we ate (leaving the lazy teenagers in bed!). The B&B is so conveniently located that we went over the cliff tops one morning and along Whitby sands the next. Whitby is a lovely easy going place, and we will definitely return and stay at Sanders Yard in the future. Thank you. Our only word of advice is: take ear plugs as the seagulls are unbelievably noisy, even at night when it is dark!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The location was fantastic. We were very comfortable in the lovely rooms. Breakfast was in the restaurant where our table was reserved, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definetly go back? Sandra. Darlington

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our second visit to Sanders Yard. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to book for our first anniversary,
Room No.1 was wonderful.
The staff are attentive and very helpful.
The breakfasts are the best we've had anywhere.
This is such a wonderful place and perfectly situated for visiting Whitby.
We would definitely recommend Sanders Yard especially for a special occasion.

Room Tip: inform on booking if this is for a special event
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent two nights at sanders yard, first impression of the room was good, nice and clean and spacious. But the problem was ther was nowhere to put anything there was a chest of drawers in the room but all but one small drawer had something in it. There was a duvet in one drawer, a heater in another and a hair dryer in the other it's a good job we were only ther two nights or storage could be a problem, also ther was only four coat hangers on a bracket on a wall not good for a long stay. The bath was huge but unfortunately far too deep for me to climb in or out of. I found the breakfast very good with lots of choice and very pleasant staff. Sanders Yard is in a fantastic location but with the lack of surfaces to place anything on and no wardrobe it's very overpriced at £90 per night. I love Whitby and will go back soon but will look for something less pricey.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty getting in or out of the bath, mention this when booking as our bath was impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked this b&b when we arrived in Whitby.we were shown room before we booked,we were very pleased with the room.double bed,very clean,great bathroom,no shower,didn't bother us.we prefer bath.no wardrobes but there was places to hang your clothes,this wasn't an issue with us.breakfast was anything you want.cereal/porridge,fruit juice,toast,full English,kippers etc etc.positioned right in the heart of Whitby,in amongst shops,bars,restaurants and cobbled streets.would definitely recommend and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just had a three day stay In Dove Cottage, Sanders Yard.
Dove Cottage is great, for anyone with a young family its home from home. My Husband, myself and two children aged 8 and 1. Its a very nice cottage, Kitchen and living room on the first floor, double bedroom and large batroom on seccond floor and another double and kids room on the third floor. There was two large baskets of toys in the living room and sky tv to keep everyone entertained before breakfast, there was a travel cot put up for us, saved us lugging ours, the large corner bath was great, myself and the children could all fit in at once making things easier. The kids room at the top of the cottage was full of toys aswell.
The children loved going up and down the stairs, up, down, up, down, up, down!!!
In the under stairs cupboard they also found buckets and spades to borrow for the beach.
It was all very clean and tidy we found it ideal.
The breakfast is served in the main building, about 5 metres away. It was a lovely breackfast, full english, smoked salmon and wonderfull scrambled egg! and plenty more to choose from. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
We will be back again very soon i hope
The only complaint is the very noisy seagulls!! waking everyone at 5am

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanders Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanders Yard

Address: Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanders Yard 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sanders Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanders Yard Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanders Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.