We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dove cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanders Yard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sanders Yard to your Saves list
Sanders Yard
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
East Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dove cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just had a three day stay In Dove Cottage, Sanders Yard.
Dove Cottage is great, for anyone with a young family its home from home. My Husband, myself and two children aged 8 and 1. Its a very nice cottage, Kitchen and living room on the first floor, double bedroom and large batroom on seccond floor and another double and kids room on the third floor. There was two large baskets of toys in the living room and sky tv to keep everyone entertained before breakfast, there was a travel cot put up for us, saved us lugging ours, the large corner bath was great, myself and the children could all fit in at once making things easier. The kids room at the top of the cottage was full of toys aswell.
The children loved going up and down the stairs, up, down, up, down, up, down!!!
In the under stairs cupboard they also found buckets and spades to borrow for the beach.
It was all very clean and tidy we found it ideal.
The breakfast is served in the main building, about 5 metres away. It was a lovely breackfast, full english, smoked salmon and wonderfull scrambled egg! and plenty more to choose from. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
We will be back again very soon i hope
The only complaint is the very noisy seagulls!! waking everyone at 5am

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are described as "beautifully decorated overlooking our award winning courtyard".This is not the case of room 3 that we were allocated.The decorations do not even match those of the website.

This is an expensive B & B at £90 per night and this is NOT justified by the facilities - NO shower-NO bath rail or handles- NO table- Only ONE chair- NOWHERE to sit,eat or drink-Very small window with NO view making the room dark and gloomy- NO wardrobe or hanging except for a puny wall bracket.

The rear courtyard looked sad and neglected and not suitable for sitting out.
We looked at some others that had more to offer at £50--£60....

The staff were excellent if quite young and the food was very good and plentiful with good choice.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had one night stop over. the room was large and clean , with a comfortable double bed and an adequate en suite - the bath was very large and slippery to get into and out of for a shower. There is no parking on site - parking is in a public car park a couple of hundred yards away - but you can unload cases at the hotel entrance. Breakfast was average. We would be pleased to stay here again on any return visit.

Room Tip: We had room 1 , which is on the first floor , so we didn't have to carry our cases up to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Back again in ‘Our’ little cottage, and what a change, Ian & Becca have added a new wet room, very stylish & modern, no more fighting the shower curtain! Well done guys it’s great, however just one tiny tip, you need to’ frost’ the window (spray or film) I know no one uses the small alley but clear glass is a very disconcerting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great place excellent vegetarian choice. Healthy and tasty and good atmosphere . Salmon and scrambled eggs wow! good place to visit before facing the shops .Lot to do in the vicinity and good place to come back to for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed here last minute with my husband, having stayed in whitby many times i cant believe we have never stayed here although we have walked passed many times. The owners are lovely the room was comfy,clean and decorated lovely with a deep roll top bath in a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was very nice, scrambled egg and smoked salmon for me and full monty for my other half. Dont make my mistake and walk past this lovely little yard with its selection of accomodation and restaurant serving top quality food at very reasonable prices

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our second stay at Sanders Yard, and again turned into a relaxing weekend.Sanders Yard is in the old part of town and provides excellent, clean and comfortable accommodation with everything you'd need for a short stay, and a fabulous breakfast. The shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes are all on the doorstep. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Thankyou for making our Whitby 'fix' a good one this year, we will be back soon hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanders Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanders Yard

Address: Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanders Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sanders Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanders Yard Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanders Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.