We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
24 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have visited Whitby many times but never had such a warm welcome from hosts. But the hosts of Launecston (Gill & Martin) were 1st Class.. From the moment we stepped out of the car (private car park !) they where at the door to greet us with handshakes and informal greetings. The rooms are superby clean and fresh, well equipped with all the usual accessories including sewing box & notebook & pen (something I always manage to forget to pack) Breakfast - superb! Choice of cereals, juices, yogurt, fresh fruit salad ( the best I have ever tasted) and of course the cooked breakfast ! Nothing is too much trouble for these hosts - Gill even offering to iron a thing or two !! Sometimes your hard pushed to grab an iron off your hosts. We left Whitby with 2 friends (Gill & Martin) as that is what I feel I should call them now. Martin only too eager to guide us to the starting point of our cycle ride for the day Whitby Scarborough - Whitby.. A ride I could recommend and this B & B as very easy access to the track missing the roads.. Thanks Gill & Martin for the best B & B in Whitby..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This was our first visit to Whitby where we actually stayed over, and our two days were made all the more enjoyable by being lucky enough to select Launceston Villa as our base. Gill and Martin are the perfect hosts, making the stay feel so relaxing and comfortable, nothing is too much trouble, and they are so accommodating in a very special and personal way that makes you feel immediately at ease in their company.
The accomodation is beautifully decorated, clean and functional with all you could ask for, with tea making facilities, television, hair dryer, electric shaver point, ample storage and an en suite.
There is also a book in your room that contains every available item of information to make your stay satisfying including the menu's of recommended local restauarants together with prices and table booking details, bus timetables, suggested walks etc. etc.
And last but by no means least the breakfast is really the icing on the cake, the full English was cooked and presented perfectly, with a rack of fresh toast, four varieties of cereals are available together with fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, orange and apple juice and coffee or tea all in a buffet style setting, in essence you would be hard pressed to better the quality and quantity of the breakfast anywhere.
Arriving back on our first evening quite wet after a downpour we were met by Gill who took our wet outer garments from us together with our brolley and duly dried them for us ready for the following morning.
After our two days we felt as if we were treated as friends as opposed to guests and I would recommend anyone who wishes to spend some time in the Whitby area to give very serious consideration to Launceston Villa, nothing seems to be too much trouble to Gill and Martin, and we will certainly return when next we are in North Yorkshire
And the simple answer is NO!! we are not on commission, just a very satisfied couple who have had an extremely enjoyable short break made all the better by our choice of accommodation, thank you Gill and Martin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I selected this B&B after reading reveiws on Trip Advisor and after staying there felt I must write my own review to say that I wholeheartedly agree with them! This is an excellent B&B with the kind of accomodation and service you would expect from a plush hotel. The rooms are elegant, modern, spotlessly clean with high quality furnishings and an amazingly comfy bed. The hosts, Gill and Martin, are lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast is great with lots of choice - just what you need before a hard day's walking or sightseeing. Location is perfect - about 10 mins out of Whitby centre. We found this was close enough to make getting into Whitby easy but far enough out to feel like you can escape the crowds when you want to. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We have visited Whitby before, but our experience then was not one we wanted to remember. We love Whitby, so we took to Trip Advisor and found Launceston Villa. What a refreshing change. Our hosts, Gill and Martin made us very welcome. The rooms are very clean, the breakfast was excellant with plenty of choice. We also had private car parking so saving the usual struggle you have in Whitby. We love walking and Gill & Martin were able to give us lots of help and advice. We had a fantastic weekend returning home refreshed and looking forward to another visit to this great B&B.

P&J, Yorkshire

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We only contacted the guest house by telephone, for a two night stay, a few hours before arriving but were still made very welcome. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. Gill & Martin gave us very useful advice on our plans for our walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This hotel was exceptionally clean and the owners were very helpful and gave us loads of information about the area. We stayed in a newly refurbished room which was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and the power shower was a real bonus.
Excellent breakfast and a lot of choice. I would recommend this B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

I apologise to our hosts for being a little tardy in posting our comments. As always I ask those reading this to understand that I believe in full literal meaning of the term ‘exceptional’ that would earn a 5. So read on.
Launceston Villa is a well appointed B&B about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Whitby. The hosts are extremely warm to their guests. Although it is their first venture into the world of Guest Houses they do have considerable prior knowledge. They are delightfully helpful and have great knowledge of the area. Additionally, their contacts will probably be able to assure you of a booking at the famous Magpie.
Decor is clean, airy and conventional in the common rooms. However, the bedroom we occupied was boutique in decor with excellent cushion and curtain fabrics. We have stayed in other boutique accommodation usually costing a lot more but our top floor room was one of the most comfortable we have enjoyed. My wife would argue that the beams would have been better stained to bring out the natural wood colour. I cannot agree as that would have spoiled the boutique feel. The bathroom was immaculate although economy of space meant a small handbasin. Bed bedding and pillows were generous and wonderfully comfortable.
A full breakfast was served and a choice of tea and coffee made the experience smooth. The hosts believe in healthy and I forgot to ask them how they grilled a fried egg.
Parking is included and easy to access being at the rear of the premises.
For those wishing to spend a break can do no better than book this establishment. Communication before the event was easy and responses rapid. Overall Liz and I have no problem recommending this very desirable Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast

Address: 24 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Edwardian home ample parking excellent breakfast close to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed Breakfast Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.